Notes


Matches 201 to 250 of 2,345

      «Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 47» Next»

 #   Notes   Linked to 
201
.....Clinton Eugene Bane, M. D. In general medical practice in Mather, Dr. Clinton Eugene Bane is also the physician for Pickands, Mather and Company, a coal company of Mather.
.....Clinton Eugene bane was born in Fredericktown, Washington County, December 6, 1894, son of Mahlon and Nannie (Hormell) Bane. Mahlon Bane, who was born in Fredericktown, August 21 1859, is a retired store-keeper and gauger for the United States Government; his wife, Nannie (Hormell) Bane, who was born in Greene County, died in July, 1899.
.....After passing through the public schools of Fredericktown, Clinton Eugene Bane, graduating from the high school at East Bethlehem in 1912, attended the University of Pittsburgh, receiving his degree of Bachelor of Science in 1916. Then selecting the medical profession for his career, he entered the University of Pittsburgh Medical School and received his degree of Doctor of Medicine in 1918. Entering the Western Pennsylvania Hospital at Pittsburgh, Dr. Bane remained at the institution for a year as resident physician. Then, in July, 1919, Dr. Bane came to Finleyville where for a short period, he was associated in general practice with Dr. S. P. Boyer. In January, 1920, Dr. Bane removed to Jefferson and began a general practice only to move to Mather in the autumn of 1920, receiving the appointment of physician for the Pickands, Mather and Company establishment. this office, Dr. Bane has occupied through the present, combining his duties at the mine with a large general practice. Supporting his professional associations by membership in the American Medical Association the Pennsylvania State Medical Society and the Greene County Medical Society, Dr. Bane is also a member of Phi Rho Sigma Fraternity of the University of Pittsburgh, and General Greene Lodge, independent Order of Odd Fellows at Jefferson. Dr. Bane, who like his father before him, is a member of the Democratic party, attends the Mather Christian church. during the World War he enlisted in the United States Army Medical Reserve Corps.
.....Clinton Eugene Bane married, November 5, 1924, at Clarksville, Mary Riggle, born in Crucible, May 3, 1904, a daughter of William and Gertrude (Dowlin) Riggle. William Riggle is a native of Jefferson; his wife was born in Carmichaels. Dr. and Mrs. Bane are the parents of son: Clinton Eugene, Jr., born July 27, 1925 [Source: Lewis Clark Walkinshaw, "Annals of Southwestern Pennsylvania", (New York: Lewis Historical Publishing Company, Inc., c1939), pg. 245] 
Bane, Clinton Eugene (I7418)
 
202
.....Donald Brown Ewing, son of Robert Brown and Mary Laura Ewing, was born in Childress, Texas on Sept. 14, 1894. In 1895 his family moved back to their home state of Ohio, settling in Gallipolis, where his father was superintendent of schools. Donald attended Ohio State University, where he was a member of Alpha Rho Chi, professional architectural fraternity. He graduated in 1916 with a degree of Bachelor of Architecture. Early in 1917 he enlisted as a private in the U. S. Corps of Engineers, and in July of that year went to France with his regiment, there to help in the building of docks, railroads, warehouses and hospitals, which was part of a long-range program for a ten year war on the part of the United States. In Sept. 1918 he was commissioned Second Lieutenant in the U. S. Corps of Engineers. After the Armistice in Oct. 1918, he remained in France with the engineer corps, working on a project to rebuild the highways of that war-torn country. Returning to the United States in August, 1919, he settled in Chicago where for the next seven years he engaged in the selling of construction materials for Concrete Steel County, and the United States Gypsum Co.
.....On Sept. 1, 1920, Donald was married to Irma Mary Kueker of Faribault, Minnesota. she was born Dec. 10, 1895 and was the daughter of William L. D. Kueker and his wife Wanda Von Ziegenhagen. Mr. Kueker was the founder and proprietor of Farmer's Seed and Nursery Co. of Faribault.
.....In 1926 Donald and Irma Mary became residents of Cleveland, Ohio. In 1928 Donald purchased Cleveland Steel Specialty Company, manufacturers of metal building materials, and embarked on this somewhat unfamiliar business just at the beginning of the big depression. He continued with this enterprise for the next thirty-two years, during part of which time he was a member of Kiwanis Club and President of Southeast Manufacturer's Association of Cleveland. Early in 1961, he retired from active business, and with his wife, move to Calif.
.....Donald and Irma Mary have one child. [Source: Donald Brown Ewing, "Our Ewings in America 1740-1966", Santa Monica, California: The Acme Press, 1966] 
Ewing, Donald Brown (I6865)
 
203
.....Johan Jacob Felker, born about 1674, came to America with at least one son, Johann Jacob, Jr. born 1715, in Sept of 1732. They settled in Tulphocken, Pennsylvania. John Sr. was married to Anna Barbara (last name unknown), she came to America in 1734, with a religious group (which could account for the fact we never find early church records for this family.
.....Johan Jacob Sr. died somewhere about 1749 to 1751. In his will he left everything to his wife and son George. They died, he they left as follows: To my only surviving son John Jacob, to Henry Hermell, and his children, Henry was married to his deceased daughter Eva) these children are; Jacob Hormell born 1737, died 1821, married Jane Miller, Catherine Hormell, John Hormell born 1742, died February 15, 1823, married Eleanor (unknown last name), Henry Hormell, born 1746, died February 16, 1834 in Ohio, married Eleanor Lee.
.....There was another John Jacob Felker, his will was probated in Philadelphia in 1748.
.....John Felker, first known as Johanis Fulker, arrived in Philadelphia on September 21, 1732. He is listed as a Palatine. the ship's name was "Pink Plaisance: and it was commanded by John Parrett from Rotterdam. Their last port of call was Cowes. John Felker was 58 at that time. He would have been born about 1674. He died before 1751 as is found at that time a final settlement of his estate. also, on board this ship was his son, Johan Jacob Felker, age 17. He was listed as "sick" when the ship landed.
.....John Felker's wife, Anna Barbara Felker, came in 1734 on the ship "St. andrew" with the rest of the family. She died after her husband before 1751.
.....John and Anna Barbara Felker lived at Tulpenhockon, Lancaster County, Pa. [Source: Gillis, W. Floyd, ""Hormell Family"] 
Felker, Johan Jacob (I6900)
 
204
.....Lindsey and Maude first lived on Ridge Rd., Centerville Boro, Pa.. Lindsey worked on a farm for George Washington Harrison.
.....In 1899 Lindsey and Maude moved to West Pike Run Twp., on the Lemuel Cooper farm where his parents had once lived as tenants in a log house. In 1914 Lindsey purchased the Ailes farm near California, Pa.. He operated a dairy on this farm with his son Edgar until Lindsey's death in 1936. Edgar was unable to purchase the farm from his father's estate due to a dispute with several of his siblings. 
Gillis, Lindsey (I7306)
 
205
.....Max Clark Ewing, oldest son of Robert Brown and Mary Laura Ewing, was born in Texas on Aug. 26, 1887 and died May 25, 1953. He graduated in 1905 from National Normal University, Lebanon, Ohio, with a Bachelor of Science degree. In 1909 he graduated from Ohio State University, Columbus, with a degree in Mechanical and electric engineering.
.....Following graduation Max was engaged in the manufacture and the maintenance of electric power equipment for a period of six years, followed by twenty-five years in the field of analyses, statistics and records, mostly in the radio manufacturing field. From 1940 to 1950 he was at Wright Patterson Air Force Base, Dayton, Ohio as radio engineer and electrical technician, and from 1950 to 1953 as Technical Assistant to the Chief of Electronics, Armament Section.
.....On Oct. 28, 1911, Max was married to Lulu Cameron, daughter of Francis B. and Sarah Crabil Cameron. Her ancestors were Huguenots and first appear in America in the town records of Piscatany, N. Y. in the year 1702. She was born Jan. 24, 1888 in Columbus, Ohio and is a graduate of Columbus normal School. She also attended University of Cincinnati. She taught school for several years and was a substitute teacher in Cincinnati over a period of ten years. She is now living in Lynwood, California. Max and Lulu had two children. [Source: Donald Brown Ewing, "Our Ewings in America 1740-1966", Santa Monica, California: The Acme Press, 1966] 
Ewing, Max Clark (I6836)
 
206
.....MORGAN FUDGE, editor and proprietor of the Bellbrook Moon. This gentleman was born five miles east of Xenia, Greene County, December 5, 1845, and his early life was devoid of special incident, his attention being given to his studies until 1863. He then enlisted in Company A, Seventy-fourth Ohio Infantry, and served until the close of the war with all the enthusiasm and loyalty possible to a son of the Buckeye State. His regiment was attached to the Army of the Cumberland, under the leadership of Gen. W. T. SHERMAN, and he took part in the Battles at Buzzard’s Roost, Tunnel Hill, and Resaea, and all the heavy engagements from Chattanooga until the capture of Atlanta. He then made one of the sixty thousand gallant men who marched from Atlanta to the sea, and returning toward the North was present at the surrender of Gen. Joe JOHNSTON, in North Carolina, and took part in the Grand Review at Washington. He was mustered out of the service at Louisville, Ky., and received his final discharge at Camp Dennison, Ohio.
.....When his services were no longer needed in behalf of the Union, young FUDGE entered a commercial school at Owensboro, Ky., but subsequently became a student in Purdy’s Commercial College, Indianapolis, Ind., and was graduated from that institution. He received an appointment as clerk in the Insane Asylum in the Hoosier capital, and remained a year, after which he traveled until 1870. He then located in Bellbrook, this county, where he worked at the printing business for several years. Finally removing to Dayton, he remained two years, and then returning to Bellbrook, bought the Bellbrook Moon, a newspaper published by the Magnetic-Springs Company. The purchase was made July 18, 1885, and since that day Mr. FUDGE was continued to edit the sheet which is independent in politics, newsy and spicy, and altogether creditable in appearance and contents.
.....In 1871, not long after he had located in Bellbrook, Mr. FUDGE was united in marriage with Miss Anna, daughter of Samuel and Catherine (HOPKINS) WILLOUGHBY, with whom he lived happily until August 3, 1881. On that day Mrs. FUDGE and her son Johnnie were returning home from Dayton, after dark, when, during a thunder storm, their horse became frightened at a load of straw, and ran away. Mrs. FUDGE was thrown out of the buggy, and her neck was broken. The suddenness of her death added to the sorrow felt by her many friends, to whom her sterling qualities had endeared her. Her funeral was the largest ever witnesses in Bellbrook. She was the mother of two children, Herbert and John. Her father was a native of New Brunswick, and during the Civil War spent nineteen months in Libby Prison; her mother was a daughter of Samuel H. HOPKINS.
.....Mr. FUDGE remained a widower until October, 30, 1889, when he married Mrs. Lavenia G. ORDWAY, nee GOOD, widow of Charles ORDWAY. By her first marriage she had two children: Franklin, born October 24, 1873; and Carrie, June 3, 1876. She was born at Zanesville, Ohio, July 15, 1852, being a daughter of George B. and Ann (TODD) GOOD. Her father is a native of Woodstock, W. Va., and is of German descent, being a great-grandson of Capt. Mathew MARKUM, of Germany, who lived to be one hundred and three years old. The mother of Mrs. FUDGE was born in Worchester, W. V., and is a daughter of Benjamin TODD, of Zanesville, who served in the War of 1812, and who is of French descent. She is a second cousin to the late Mrs. Abraham LINCOLN. In 1854 Mr. and Mrs. GOOD with a family of seven children, joined the Shakers at Union village, Warren County, remaining there until 1864, when they removed to Xenia.
.....Mr. FUDGE belongs to the Grand Army of the Republic, and is a Republican in politics. He possesses more than ordinary intelligence, is a terse and vigorous writer, and an honorable man, whose influence is felt throughout the community, and who is held in good repute by his fellow-men.
.....The father of him of whom we write, was the Honorable Judge FUDGE, who birthplace was in Botetourt County, Va., April 13, 1796, and who died of a paralytic stroke September 5, 1868, at the age of seventy-three years, five months and twelve days. Many years ago he located five miles east of Xenia, purchasing a large estate on Caesar’s Creek, where he carried on the farm and a tannery. He was a very prominent man in this section, being a Justice of the Peace for many years, a County Commissioner for a lengthy period, and having been appointed Associate Judge by Gov. Bebb, in 1852, the year that Ramsbottom was hung for murder. He acted as administrator of about three hundred estates, and was an officer in the Methodist Episcopal Church. He served several years in the Legislative halls of the State, both in the Lower House and the Senate. From “Pencilings from the Senate” in 1852, we take the following: “John FUDGE represents the counties of Fayette, Clinton, and Greene in the Senate of Ohio. He is a Whig, and physically the largest man in the Senate, weighing two hundred and fifty pounds. He is a hale man, looking young, and not yet gray, although fifty-five years old. He has filled a seat in the Legislature several times, and as a Senator is something of a model.”
.....John FUDGE was married three times. His first wife was Catherine SELLERS, of Warren County, who bore him six children, five yet surviving. The eldest son, Joseph, was run over by a wagon, and killed in June, 1888. The subject of this sketch is the only child of the second marriage, his mother having been Temperance SPAHR, who died two years after her marriage. The infant was then taken by an aunt, Mrs. Elizabeth SUTTON, but upon the third marriage of his father, was again taken home. His stepmother bore the maiden name of Susan BARNETT, and her wedding day was February 25, 1846; she still survives. [Source: Portrait and Biographical Album of Greene and Clark Counties, Ohio, Chapman Bros., Chicago, Copyright 1890, pg 735, 736] 
Fudge, John K. (I10304)
 
207
.....Robert Brown Ewing, son of John R. and Rachel Hawk Ewing, was born on Jan. 21, 1860 in Ewington, Ohio and died Feb. 24, 1930 in Franklin, Texas. He received his education at Ohio Wesleyan University, Delaware, and Normal School, Lebanon, Ohio. He was known to all as Brown.
.....On August 12, 1885 he was married to Mary Laura Clark (July 23, 1864 - Nov. 26, 1956), daughter of the Hon. Amos Clark and wife Harriet Frances Riggs. Mary Laura -- known as Mamie -- was born in Eureka, Ohio, which is about twelve miles down the Ohio River from Gallipolis. She spent her youth on the Clark farm about eight miles down river from Gallipolis, and graduated from Gallipolis High School in 1885.
.....Soon after marriage in 1885, Brown and Mamie moved to Texas where Brown pursued his teaching career in Dallas, Weatherford, and Childress. During this nine year period their four children, Max, the twins Van and Rex, and Donald were born. In 1895 Brown heard that they were looking for a new superintendent of schools in Gallipolis. He at once took the train to Gallipolis and after a short time was elected to this position. He telegraphed to Mamie to bring the children to Gallipolis. On the way north there was a stop-over in St. Louis, and the young mother found the time and energy to take her four children to see the sights at the zoo, and to give the three older children a ride on the elephant. With one child eight, the twins six, and the baby only nine months old, one wonders how she managed.
.....In 1900, after six years as Superintendent of Gallipolis Schools, Brown was not re-elected to his school position. He then moved with his family to Ewington, where they lived in Calla House.
.....In 1902 Brown resumed his teaching career as superintendent of schools in other towns in Ohio, including Centerville and Carlisle, both near Dayton. In 1915, Brown retired from teaching and he and Mamie moved to Franklin, Texas, where Brown became County, Agricultural agent of Robertson County,. This position, together with certain civic activities, enabled him to gradually become well acquainted with most of the voters in the county, and he was asked to stand for election to the State Legislature of Texas, on the democratic ticket. From a long line of republicans, and a lifelong republican himself this took a little soul-searching. However, running for election in Texas as a democrat is tantamount to election, and following the old adage of 'when in Rome' he accepted the invitation to run and was elected a member of the Texas State Legislature, where he served for several years until his death in 1930. [Source: Donald Brown Ewing, "Our Ewings in America 1740-1966", Santa Monica, California: The Acme Press, 1966] 
Ewing, Robert Brown (I6857)
 
208
.....The executor's bond for his estate was filed in Rockingham County, Virginia August 18, 1812. Andrew Sellers was named executor of his estate with bond of $3500 signed by Zebulon Harrison, Peter Zetty, and Peter Henton, his neighbors. Michael (Sillers) Sellers was listed tithables for 1775. Adam, Peter, Henry, and John Siller were also listed.
.....John Michael Zellers was the pioneer of the Melrose, Virginia Sellers. He patented 106 acres in 1781 on the west side of Smith's Creek (Patent book 1, pg. 63) and 60 acres in 1785 on east side of Dry Fork on Smith Creek (Patent book 1, pg. 319). He paid fifteen shillings sterling to the Commonwealth of Virginia April 13, 1780 for the 106 acres. It is likely that he laid claim to this land prior to 1780 and had probably lived on it for sometime before it was surveyed and the deed recorded. It is believed that his log house was located on the west side of the hill below where Fellowship Church stands in 1984. An old house stood on this site and was used by Jacob Benjamin Franklin Sellers, in the early years of his marriage, before he built a new house nearby.
The Sellers cemetery is on the side of the hill just south of the location of this log house. According to tradition Michael started the cemetery. He and his wife are probably buried in it in unmarked graves.
.....Family tradition says he had the Methodist circuit riders hold services at this home before he helped build a church on his land. There was also a school on his land. There is a possibility that school was held in the church building since this was customary in the days of settlement.
He sold Andrew Sellers 93 acres in 1812 "of the upper plantation". He probably died early summer of 1812. His estate was not settled for some years since Andrew Sellers paid $1.00 for taxes on 162 acres for the Michael Seller's estate in 1818. The delay in the estate settlement could have been because Michael's wife was still living but it was not unusual for years to pass before settlements were made. There is a question as to why there is no mention of other heirs. His will if any, could have been burned and he left all to Andrew; the rest of the family having left the area or being deceased. Christina was deceased but she left a large family of children.
.....There were one or more structures on the old church site before a deed for the land was made to Fellowship Church in 1854 some 42 years after his death.
He is listed as a landowner in Rockingham County, Virginia in 1789. The militia vouchers for Rockingham 1788 lists Michael Sellers in Captain Richard Regans Co. 13 with 1 Tithable and a male, Jacob, over 16. Usually these males were sons unless otherwise designated. Since horses were essential in case of defense they were also inventoried. Michael owned four.
.....Michael's wifes name is not known, and a record of his marriage has not been found. There is also considerable uncertainty about the names of his children and how many. The girls listed, however, are verified by marriage bonds and Jacob and James by tithables vouchers. Land transactions and the fact Andrew was the executor of his estate indicate he was a son.
Source:
[1] Mary Marie Koontz Arrington, "Cradled by the Masanutten: The Zellers-Sellers Family", Baltimore: Gateway Press, 1986
[2] Frank M. Sellers, "Sellers - A Preliminary Study of the Descendants of Heinrich Sellers", Denver, Colorado: Lion Press, 1984 
Zeller, Johan Michael (I10220)
 
209
...86. Kelley, James...1787 - listed on the Rostraver Grant map (Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania)
Many of these families had properties before the formation of Allegheny County and Fayette County and therefore may be shown on the above Counties grant maps.
...The original boundaries of Rostraver Twp: "Beginning at the mouth of Jacobs Creek, and running down the Youghogheny to where it joins the Monongahela; then up the said Monongahela to the mouth of Redstone Creek; and thence with a straight line to the beginning." 
Kelly, James (I4018)
 
210
...A memorandum in the family Bible of Thomas ffrench, then residing at Nether Heyford, England, and in his own handwriting, says: "December the first about ten at night my son Richard was borne, 1665. The Lord give him grace that hee may continually walk before him." A long and useful life shows how fully this characteristic prayer of a devout and loving father was answered. Richard was a lad of fifteen when he came to America with the family, in 1680. So far as known, his youth and early manhood were spent on the Rancocas homestead plantation. That he was devoted to farm life is shown in the fact that upon his marriage, in 1693, he purchased an extensive tract of land, 460 acres, in Mansfield township, Burlington county, where he seems to have resided during the remainder of his life. A deed of release of all claim to the home farm, after his father's death, to his younger brother, Charles, shows the kindly relationship that existed and his contentment with his own lot.
...That Richard French was a faithful and zealous Friend is evident from meeting records of the period, wherein his name appears many times. His nearest meeting was the one early established at Crosswicks. In 1715 he is frequent representative at Quarterly and Yearly meeting. He was now past middle age, but for a quarter of a century continued active in the work of preaching and visitation, journeying through the wilderness to New England and the South. The original certificate of 1733, is wonderfully well preserved, showing many notable names of that pioneer period. In the promotion of religious life in the colonies Richard French was conspicuous and influential. In business affairs he was active and prosperous, as his many deeds and other papers show, particularly his will and the accompanying inventory of personal property. In 1701 he served as tax collector for Mansfield township. He raised a large family, all of his ten children reaching marriageable age. The peculiar phraseology of his recorded papers shows a mind exceedingly careful of details, with a just and kindly spirit, a continuing answer to the fervent prayer of his father at his birth. His monthly meeting fittingly testified, after his death, that in the exercise of his gift in the ministry, "he labored faithfully in his declingin age, and travelled much in North America." (Source: L. P. Allen, The Genealogy and History of the Shreve Family from 1641 (Greenfield, Illinois: Privately Printed, 1901), pg. 93.)

Burlington Monthly Meeting Minutes
At our men's Monthly Meeting held at the house of Thomas Gardiners 6 Jul 1693; Richard French and Sarah Scattergood came before this Meeting and Declared their Intention of Marriage it being the First Time.

At our men's Monthly Meeting held at the house of Thomas Gardeners Adjorned to this 11 Jul 1693; Richard French and Sarah Scattergood came this second time and declared their intentions of Marriage and the Meeting upon Enquire finding them clear they are permitted to Solemnize the same as in the fear of God they see meete.

Chesterfield Monthly Meeting Minutes
4 Oct 1701, Richard French and Mary King signifyed their intentions of taking each other in marriage and according to the good order used amongst us, William Wood and Thomas Scholey are appoynted to enquire concerning the clearness on their account and make report to our next Monthly Meeting.

1 Nov 1701, Richard French and Mary King signified their intentions of marriage with each other the 2nd time, and enquiry having been made on both parts concerning their clearness from others on their account and nothing appearing but that they are cleare, they are left to proceed according to that good order used amongst us. (Source: Chesterfield Monthly Meeting Marriage Certificate) 
French, Richard (I1383)
 
211
...A Thomas Florrey was born to James and Penelope Florey in London, England in 1701. A Thomas Florie, aged 19, was transported to America as a criminal on the ship "Gilbert", landing at Annapolis, Maryland May 1721. A witness to his indenture (5 years) was Penelope Flora, possibly his mother.
...A map dated 1736 shows a Thomas Florry located on the Potomac River at a site which was designated "Flora" on a 1747 map drawn by Peter Jefferson, father of Thomas Jefferson. This may be Thomas' father. "Flora" is located near present day Big Pool, Washington County, Maryland.
...Also listed as Flory, Florey and Flurry 
Flory, James (I3993)
 
212
...Abraham Brown and Asher Brown: Act to authorize them to erect and maintain a Milldam and other water works across the North Branch of Ancocas Creek, in townships of Northampton and New Hanover, at Fork Bridge, Burlington County, about 1783. pg. 13
...Abraham Brown, son of Nicholas Brown, I, of Shrewsbury, N. J., in 1665. In 1667, he was a purchaser in the Monmouth Tract. In 1668, Abram and Nicholas Brown Took oath of allegiance. 1670, Augu. 13 Peter Tilton sold wife Mary, *who was living as late as 1711. He resided in Shrewsbury until 1698-90, when he removed to Mansfield, "Burlington County, West Jersey. He probably had a first wife, Catharine.
...1699, Dec. 15. Abraham Brown, Sr., of Burlington county, deeded land to his "son-in'law, Samuel Thorp," "sometimes living with his father-in-law." Mary Thropp was a witness, in 1686-7, to the marriage of Martha Brown and John Hampton.
...1714, May 5. Will of Abraham Brown, of Mansfield, Burlington County, N. J.; proved July 10, 1714, mentioned:

Wife, Mary, as "Mary my dearest beloved wife."
Son, Preserve Brown
Son, Nicholas Brown
Son, William Brown
Son, Caleb Brown
Son, Abrahm Brown
Daughter, Sarah Potter
Daughter Elizabeth Alfree
Grandson, Thomas Potter

...He gave to son, Abraham, the plantation whereon he lived. (Source: John E. Stillwell, Historical and Genealogical Miscellany: Early Settlers of New Jersey and their Descendants(New York: Lyons Printing Company, 1914), pg. 130.) 
Brown, Abraham (I1318)
 
213
...Albright's wife was traditionally known as Charity but he referred to her as "Ruthy" as recorded in the "Book of Wills", Adams County, Ohio. (Source: Walter W. Bunderman, Flory, Flora, Fleury(: Lebanon County Flory Reunion Organization, 1948), pg. 112.)
...Albright was from Frederick County, Maryland. Charity (also known as Ruthy), his wife, was of Dutch descent. They moved to Bourbon County, Kentucky in about 1790. From there they moved to Adams County, Ohio to a farm for some years known as the Mccoy farm. 
_____, Ruth (I1502)
 
214
...Among the pioneers of Miami County who have passed to "the undiscovered country from whose bourne no traveler returns" is Michael Honeyman, who became a resident of this locality in 1823. He was born in Pennsylvania, September 1, 1820, and three years later was brought to the Buckeye state by his parents, Benjamin and Mary (Knife) Honeyman, who made the trip westward by water and team. On reaching Miami County the father settled on the farm which Benjamin Honeyman now owns. Under the parental roof the subject of this review was reared and also became familiar with the arduous duties of developing and improving new land. He attended the common schools through the winter months, but in the summer seasons aided in the work of field and meadow. On the 18th of December, 1845, he was united in marriage to Miss Lucinda Hoover, whose birth occurred near Milton, Miami County, on the 1st of May, 1828. She was a daughter of John Hoover, whose birth occurred on the same farm in 1804. Her grandfather was John Hoover, Sr., a native of South Carolina, who was married in his native state and thence came to Ohio, locating on the farm which was the birthplace of his son, John, and his granddaughter, Mrs. Honeyman. He erected a log cabin of two rooms and began clearing the heavy timber from his land. As John Hoover, Jr., attained sufficient strength to cope with the hard labor, he assisted his father in the work of the farm and remained at home until his marriage. He wedded Mary Carroll, and to them were born twelve children, nine of whom reached man and womanhood. For his second wife he chose Mrs. Brombaugh, and they had a family of four children. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Honeyman were born thirteen children, namely: Sarah Jane, now deceased; Webster, who has also passed away; Benjamin F., who is living in Union township; Almeda and John, both deceased; George, who is living in Tippecanoe City; Davis, a farmer residing in Concord township; Handford, who makes his home near Gettysburg, in Darke County, Ohio; Harvey, who carries on agricultural pursuits in Staunton Township, Miami County; Emeline, wife of Ira Grisso, who operates the home farm; Elizabeth, who died in infancy; Cora B., wife of B. F. Fritz, who is living near Kessler; and Enos, who is associated with Mr. Grisso in the operation of the home farm.
...It was in 1846 that Mr. Honeyman, of this review, removed to Monroe township, securing a tract of land which he cultivated and improved until 1860, when he came to the farm upon which his death occurred, July 26, 1893. He devoted his energies to the cereals best adapted to this climate and to the raising of such stock as was needed for home use. He first became owner of a tract of eighty acres, but to this he added until he had about two hundred acres in Monroe township. He was also the owner of eighty acres in Concord township, Miami Co, besides fifty-three acres near Rochester, Indiana. In 1869 he built a fine brick residence upon his farm, and all the improvements seen there stand as monuments to his thrift and enterprise. He was a successful agriculturist, whose progressive, yet practical, methods enabled him to annually add to his capital until he became the possessor of a comfortable competence. At the time of his death both Mr. and Mrs. Honeyman had been members of the German Baptist church for forty-two years, and were ever faithful to their professions. His life was ever honorable and upright, his business reputation unassailable, and all who knew him entertained for him the highest regard. His life was unmarked by events of startling importance, but at all times it was characterized by fidelity to every manly principle, and he thereby won a host of warm friends who greatly mourned his loss. In his death the family lost a faithful and loving husband and father, the community a valued citizen, and Miami Co an honored pioneer well worthy of representation in her history. (Source: http://www.tdn-net.com/genealogy/stories/biograph/2073.htm (page 349, 1900 Biographical Hist. Miami Co)) 
Honeyman, Michael (I3864)
 
215
...Annetje Barents, wife of Albert Andriessen from Fredrikstad in Norway, came over to New Netherland by the ship "Rinselaers Wijck," on March 4, 1637. She was accompanied by her husband and her first three children, one of whom, Storm, was born on the ship, November 2, 1636, the voyage being a stormy one. Annetje settled with her husband in the colony of Rensselaerswyck and gave birth to five additional children. 
Barents, Annetje (I6316)
 
216
...Antony de Hooges; was engaged as underbookkeeper and assistant to Arent van Curler, and sailed from the Texel by den Coninck David, July 30, 1641. He reached New Amsterdam Nov. 29, 1641, but apparently did not arrive in the colony till April 10, 1642, being credited from that date till April 10, 1644, with a salary of f150 a year. From van Curler's departure for Holland, in Oct. 1644, till van Slichtenhorst's arrival on March 22, 1648, he was entrusted with the business management of the colony; from the latter date till his death, on or about 'Oct. 11, 1655, he held the offices of secretary and gecommitteerde. In the accounts, he is credited, from May 11, 1652, to Oct. 11, 1655, with a salary of f300 a year as secretary, and for the same period with a salary of f100 as gecommitteerde, also with £56, for salary as voorlecser (reader in the church) during two months and one week in 1653. In a petition for salary, March 27, 1648, he states that he has
been for more than six years in the service of the patroon and for four years has not received any salary; that he has now been entrusted with a new office without any mention of salary; and that he must have a house built inasmuch as the storehouse, assigned to him for a dwelling, has been turned into a church.
...On 29 October 1647, a little more than two years into his tenure as de facto commis-general of Rensselaerswijck, De Hooges married Eva (or Affien) Albertsz Bradt, a woman probably more than a dozen years his junior but who, like Anthony, had been born in Amsterdam. Eva was the daughter of Annetje Barents and Albert Andriesz Bradt, de Noorman [the Norwegian], originally from Fredrikstad in southeast Norway. De Hooges’s in-laws had lived in the patroonship for more than a decade by the time of their daughter’s wedding. Albert, who had the reputation (at least early on) of being a difficult and demanding person, had worked as a tobacco planter and mill builder/operator in the patroonship.
...Several months after his death, his wife apparently found it necessary to turn to the deacons of the church for a loan. A little more than a year later, when she remarried, she mortgaged her real property to set aside relatively small sums for the heirs she shared with her late husband—one hundred guilders each for their five children.
...Anthony De Hooges did not leave a legacy of great wealth to his biological descendents. Nor did he become the fabled patriarch of a large New World clan bearing his family name; four of his children were girls and his only son died without a surviving male heir. Ironically, however, it is possible that he did, nevertheless, leave his mark—or at least his given name—on the Hudson Valley (or maps of it). Some of the earliest mentions of De Hooges made by researchers state (though without providing documentation) that the “promontory” or “mountain” which stands near the east landing of the Bear Mountain Bridge over the Hudson River, a few miles up from Peekskill, was named for De Hooges—enshrining in cartography a facial feature for which he was evidently remembered by those who had known him personally—as “Anthony’s Nose” (later renamed St. Anthony’s Nose).

Reference:
1. Mouw, Dirk. The Memorandum Book of Anthony de Hooges. N.p.: New Netherland Research and the New Netherland Institute, 2012.
2. Van Laer, A. J. F. Archivist. Van Rensselaer Bowier Manuscripts: Being the Letters of Kiliaen Van Rensselaer, 1630-1643 and Other Documents Relating to the Colony of Rensselaerswyck. Albany: University of the State of New York, 1908. 
de Hooges, Antony (I6317)
 
217
...At the beginning of the 18th century Deerfield was the most important place on the Little Miami above Columbia. It was made a stopping-place for many of the early settlers in different parts of the county. Early emigrants frequently left their families at Deerfield while the first improvements were being made on their new farms.
...Captain John Spencer settled on Turtle Creek on Section 9, near the northern boundary of this township, in 1796. His wife, Ann Spencer, was a daughter of Captain Robert Benham. Captain Spencer served in the war of 1812, and died April 22, 1835. (Source: Evansville, Indiana: Unigraphic, Inc., 1972, a reproduction, "The History of Warren County, Ohio", (Original published by W.H. Beers & County, Chicago 1882), Union Township, pg. 712) 
Spencer, Captain John (I2448)
 
218
...Baptized on May 31, 1759, with his brothers and sisters, in the Scotch Covenanter Church, the Old Tennent Church of Freehold, New Jersey. His first or middle name may have been James. Probably in 3rd Virginia Regiment of the continental Line during the Revolutionary War. (Source: Information from John Hartsock)
...According to Benjamin Van Cleve, nephew of Richard Benham, in about 1784/5 "Captain Robert Benham, my mothers brother, paid us a visit. He strongly solicited my father to remove to that county (the land west of the Monongehelah in Pennsylvaina), gave him a list of the different places on the road and every necessary advice relative to his preparations and journey. The object to be surmounted. He was, however, all summer getting ready and did not commence the journey until the second day of November. It seemed hard to leave the country of our nativity, our near relatives, and almost all that was dear to us. My father's mother was living and had lived with us for many years. My mother's grandmother who had brought her up from two years old, lived within a quarter of a mile; she had never lived further off. There was a numerous connection of both sides. We were now to separate from forever. But the prospects of being better enabled in a new country of providing for a growing family preponderated. We commenced our journey on the second of November, 1785, with two wagons of my father's one carrying a set of smith's tools and the other the household goods, in the company with Cornelius Shourd and family, whose wife is my mother's sister. They were in another wagon. My father and uncle and each an apprentice and a young man by the name of Tunis Voorheis, and neighbor, came with us to see the country, and my Uncle had with him likewise my Uncle Richard Benham's wife and son. We made this day near thirty miles and put up at the ferry on the Delaware River about two miles below Trenton."
..."Skipping some entries, we continued: - Dec, 6 came to James Crawford's Ferry on the Monongehela. Here we were met by Uncles, Robert and Peter Benham, with fresh horses and before night we arrived at the end of our journey on the north fork of Ten Mile Creek in Washington County Pennsylvania."
..."We lived on the Plantation of my uncle, Robert Benham, nearly opposite Wises (afterwards Wallaces) Mills during the years 1786 - 87. My father cultivated a small field and worked at his trade. In 1788 my father rented a farm."
..."On the 25th of November 1789 we sailed from Crawford's Ferry, one boat carrying the families of my father, uncle Richard Benham and some passengers, one of who was Jacob Tappan of New Jersey." The family of Amey Benham and Cornelius Shroud (her husband) remained in western Pa. The journey was made safely and the company landed at Losantiville, opposite the Licking River, on January 3, 1790. The new arrival quickly made preparations for living quarters and the care of their families. John Van Cleave, a blacksmith by trade, who had brought his tools with him, all the way from his home in New Jersey, set up a shop.
...Richard Benham's brother, Robert, followed shortly after with his family while their brother, Peter, and his family came several years later. Richard and Robert Benham soon bought property in Hamilton county, property which now is of great value, being in downtown section of Cincinnati. Their names appear on the record of distribution and sale of lots in the town of Losantiville, 1789-90. Deeds in the Hamilton county Court House attest to early ownership of land by both of them.
...Richard Benham's land became his as a "volunteer settler" on property offreed by John Cleves Symmes. A "volunteer settler" was required to improve the land and represent his section whenever required for seven years before he was granted ownership. This was called the "Rule of Sale and Settlement of Miami Lands." Should the volunteer settler not live up to his part of the contract he lost the right to claim property and someone else was allowed to apply for it. Richard Benham, according to court house records, never seems to have left Hamilton County although he lived several places in it including the old settlement of Columbia, where from deeds we know he lived in 1802. It was at this time that he became tired of clearing lots Nos. 243 and 244, at the north west corner of fifth and Race Streets in Cincinnati, and paying taxes on them, so he decided to sell them deeming them valueless. On January 4, 1802, he sold the two lots for $40.00.
...Richard Benham did not leave a will but from other sources I learned that his wife was Lydia (Last name unknown). He died intestate but the names of his children and heirs appear in a series of deeds of land recorded in Hamilton County court House, in which deeds they sold the land left them by their father. This property was located in the north west corner of Symmes township. Lydia appears as the head of the family in Symmes township in the 1820 census records of Hamilton County, as do her widowed daughter, Betsy Luther, and her sons-in-law, Henry A. Balser, Robert Hughes, and Amos Harris. The last known record of Lydia is in a deed dated November 14, 1823 in Warren County, Oh. Richard Benham built the third cabin on the present site of Cincinnati. He had ten acres there at one time. He died near Todd's Forks and at the time of his death he owned 114 acres.

Researchers Note: Cincinnati was founded in 1788 and named "Losantiville" meaning "the city opposite the mouth of the Licking River". 
Benham, Richard (I564)
 
219
...Benjamin's mother Sarah Areson Shreve lived with Benjamin at the Homestead in Burlington County until her death.
...Benjamin had a son William, who had a son (1757) married to Sarah Beck in 1775 who had a daughter Sarah Shreve (married to David Ingersoll of Lee, Massachusetts. (first families v.3, pg. 310) 
Areson, Sarah (I1372)
 
220
...Born in Belfast to parents who enjoyed travelling, and soon took a dislike to same. Educated at RBAI 1925 - 1931, matriculated to QUB 1931 and eventually went into Bank of Ireland. Fluent in Spanish and French, spoke Danish and Russian. Latin and Greek scholar. Keen rugby player (1st XV RBAI) and played on Barbarians hockey team. Played for Balmoral GC Senior Cup Team. MA (Oxon) Law & Bar exam. Joined Bank of Ireland as no maney in Law! Because of liguistic capability and Communist sympathies, had to be prevented from going to Spain to fight in Civil War, 1937. In bank in Ballinasloe at the outbreak of 2nd World War, and volunteered after friends Ronnie Harvey and Tom McKinstry joined up. Joined 175 (TA) Battalion Light AA Regiment RA. Served in Fermanagh and Dover. Due to pressure of boredom he volunteered for everything including air-gunner in RAF bombers. Joined Maratime RA, as Gunnery Seargent on 20mm Oerlikon and 40mm Bofors AA guns on DEMS. Served Battle of Atlantic, Russian Convoys, Italian Campaign, D Day landings, Greece Civil War and Burma. Talanted artist, photographer and "do it yourselfer". Able and amusing after dinner speaker.
...Medals Awarded: Distinguished Service Medal (1943), Officer Order of St. John (1959), 1939-45 Star, Atlantic Star, Bar France & Germany, Burma Star, Italy Star, Defence Medal, War Medal, Territorial Efficiency Medal.

...EXTRACT FROM: Fourth Supplement to the London Gazette of Friday, 12th February 1943, dated Tuesday, 16th February 1943.
Admiralty
Whitehall, 16th February 1943
The King has been graciously pleased to approve the following Awards: For fortitude, seamanship and endurance taking Merchantmen and Royal Fleet Auxiliaries to North Russia Through heavy seas and in the face of many attacks by enemy aircraft and submarines: The Distinguished Service Medal Sergeant Denis Archibald Beck, 1573273.
(Source: Information received from Alan C. Beck, Extract by John W. Beck, 11 Parkway, Seven Kings, Essex 4-1-44) 
Beck, Denis Archibald (I4185)
 
221
...By 1845 Levi, with his wife, Sarah and their oldest son, Aaron, with his wife, Jane, and their daughter Ellen (Eleanor) had moved to Franklin County, Indiana. In about 1842 Levi's son Caleb, with his 2nd wife, Arena A. (Burnham) and his sister, Harriet who had married Moses Nutt Branson moved to Sidney, Ohio. The exact date of his move is not known however there is a record of his second child, John Joseph's birth at Centerville, in 1836 and his third child, Jasper Newton, also born in Centerville in 1837, but his fourth child, Francis Marion Nutt was born in Sidney, Ohio in July of 1844.
...Levi's will was dated 03 September, 1834, recorded 15 January, 1836 and Probated 02 December, 1845 with the Clerk of the Circuit Court in Liberty, Union township, Union County, Indiana.
...Levi had received from his father 52.28 acres in Section 25, township 2, Range 6 in Washington Township, Montgomery County, Ohio for $100.00. In 1813 he sold the remaining 50 acres as recorded in Book 'C', page 299 of Deeds. He had previously sold 1/2 acre to his father-in-law and 1.5 acres to the Sugar Creek Baptist church. In 1825 he purchased the SW 1/4 section 14-T10-R1W in Union township, Union county, Indiana. When his widow, Sarah died in 1845 there was 100 acres of land to be distributed among his heirs.

-- MERGED NOTE ------------

.....By 1845 Levi, with his wife, Sarah and their oldest son, Aaron, with his wife, Jane, and their daughter Ellen (Eleanor) had moved to Franklin County, Indiana. In about 1842 Levi's son Caleb, with his 2nd wife, Arena A. (Burnham) and his sister, Harriet who had married Moses Nutt Branson moved to Sidney, Ohio. The exact date of his move is not know however there is a record of his second child, John Joseph's birth at Centerville, in 1836 and his third child, Jasper Newton, also born in Centerville in 1837, but his fourth child, Francis Marion Nutt was born in Sidney, Ohio in July of 1844.
.....Levi's will was dated 03 September, 1834, recorded 15 January, 1836 and Probated 02 December, 1845 with the Clerk of the Circuit Court in Liberty, Union township, Union County, Indiana.
Levi had received from his father 52.28 acres in Section 25, township 2, Range 6 in Washington Township, Montgomery County, Ohio for $100.00. In 1813 he sold the remaining 50 acres as recorded in Book 'C', page 299 of Deeds. He had previously sold 1/2 acre to his father-in-law and 1.5 acres to the Sugar Creek Baptist church. In 1825 he purchased the SW 1/4 section 14-T10-R1W in Union township, Union county, Indiana. When his widow, Sarah died in 1845 there was 100 acres of land to be distributed among his heirs. 
Nutt, Levi (I667)
 
222
...Caleb Sheriff permanently located in New Jersey on his marriage about 1680. He lived after 1699 in Burlington county, seven miles east of the present site of Mount Holly. At that date his children numbered seven. The eldest, Martha was twelve years of age; the five next older were boys, with probably the youngest, Mary, an infant; a daughter and two sons were subsequently born. Previous to the birth of the youngest in 1706. the oldest daughter, Martha, married in 1704.
...The family remained unbroken by marriages until 1711-1713, during which period Thomas, Joshua, Joseph, and Caleb married. The marriages of the remaining children occurred; Jonathan in 1720, Mary in 1721, Sarah in 1724, Benjamin the youngest in 1729. After marriage the father gave each child a fine farm, the precise locations of which are not known. They were probably all living in Burlington County in 1739, as the poll book of an election held in that county that year has in it the names of every son and son-in-law, excepting John Ogborne. The four elder children had sons old enough to vote, but they may have moved to other places. In the list of voters is an Amos Shreve and Caleb, Jonathan, Samuel and Thomas Scattergood, who were probably sons of Martha Shreve and Benjamin Scattergood. The descendants of Benjamin, the youngest child, have preserved the best history of the family. He acquired from his father by will the old homestead and became by contract with his mother sole heir to her property, to cover her interest in the rumored Amsterdam estate. This instrument was executed February 28, 1740-41, while she was living with Benjamin and after the marriages of her other children.
...Caleb and Sarah Areson Shreve were members of the Society of Friends in Burlington County. Caleb's will was dated April 5, 1735. Caleb changed the family name from Sheriff to Shreve after moving to New Jersey. (Source: L. P. Allen, The Genealogy and History of the Shreve Family from 1641 (Greenfield, Illinois: Privately Printed, 1901), pg. 19) 
Shreve, Caleb (I1370)
 
223
...Colonel Israel Shreve was born in 1739 in New Jersey. Before rising to a position of military leadership in General George Washington's Continental Army during the American Revolution, he worked as a farmer in Gloucester County....On Oct. 31, 1775, Shreve was appointed Lieutenant Colonel of the Second Regiment of New Jersey troops. On Nov. 28, 1776, he was promoted to Colonel for the reorganized line, which was now known as the Second New Jersey Regiment, Second Establishment.
...The 2nd N.J. Regiment fought at the Battle of Brandywine on Sept. 11, 1777, and at the Battle of Germantown on Oct. 4, 1777. They also spent the cold winter of 1777, short of clothing and food supplies, with Washington's troops at Valley Forge.
...On June 28, 1778, Shreve played a part in the strange events of the Battle of Monmouth. Major General Charles Lee led the advance column against the British troops, but gave his men hasty orders to retreat after being startled by a counterattack from the British. He did not give word of his decision to General Washington, who was following behind him with the main army. As an angry Washington met up with columns of confused troops falling back from the front, he pressed the approaching Colonel Israel Shreve for an explanation. "Colonel Shreve answered in a very significant manner, smiling, that he did not know, but that he had retreated by order, he did not say by whose order."* Following the Battle of Monmouth, Lee was court-martialled and removed from command.
...In July of 1779, Shreve and the 2nd N.J. Regiment joined Major General John Sullivan in his campaign against the Tory-allied Iroquois Indians. Shreve was appointed commander of the expedition's base at Fort Sullivan at Tioga, while General Sullivan and his troops went on a punishing spree against the Indians, burning 40 of their towns and destroying corn, vegetables, and orchards.
...According to one source, Shreve was "immensely fat" and such an incompetent officer that in Dec. of 1780 Washington declined to promote him to Brigadier General, saying, "Here I drop the curtain." Shreve retired from the army on Jan. 1, 1781, but for inexplicable reasons remained in command through the rest of the month. In early January, troops in the Pennsylvania Line mutinied over lack of pay and other grievances. When the New Jersey Line followed suit on Jan. 20, Shreve by all accounts botched or neglected handling the situation. At the end of January, Elias Dayton took over as Colonel.
...Shreve apparently participated in the General Assembly of New Jersey following the end of his military career. In April 1783, members of the New Jersey Line requested that he represent them to the Assembly on the issue of receiving five years' full pay at the end of their service, rather than half-pay for life.
...Shreve returned to farming after the war, eventually settling in the west with his wife and children. He died in 1799. (Source: Israel Shreve Revolutionary War Letters, Courtesy of Special Collections & Archives, University of Houston Libraries. http://www.lib.utexas.edu/taro/uhsc/00024/hsc-00024.html) 
Shreve, Israel (I1208)
 
224
...Cornelis purchased in 1688 from the trustees of the Kingstone Commons, the Brink land at Saugerties "between The Esopus and The Plattekill" was the first settler after the "Little Sawyer" (Saugerties) and immediately build thereon a log house, 13 years later in 1701 built a stone house, before settling after his father's death in 1702 in Hurley where he had been raised. 
Lambertsen, Cornelis (I6343)
 
225
...Daniel Fetters (Fetter, Feather) was born in Middletown, Pennsylvania in 1760. He was the son of Michael Fetter (1725-1789) and Catharine. in 1776 Michael bought land just west of Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania where he built a mill and fort. These were occupied throughout the Revolutionary War. In 1790 Daniel married Susannah Shoup, a daughter of Sebastian Shoup and Maria Margaret Tegarden. During the Revolutionary War there was a blockhouse built on Sebastian's land in Saxton, Pennsylvania.
...In 1801 Daniel bought 349 acres on the southwest branch of the Frankstown Branch of the Juniata River which he sold six years later when the family moved to Ohio. They settled on the N 1/2 of R5.T5.S29 in Randolph Township. Daniel received a patent on the SE 1/4 of Range 5, Township 5, Section 20 on February 10, 1810. The 1820 Census lists Daniel in Randolph Township, Montgomery County and that year he started paying real estate taxes on the SW 1/4 of R5.T6.S21 south of West Milton in Miami County. Daniel made his will on September 18, 1822 in Montgomery County and never updated it. Some grandchildren and Daniel Jr. were not mentioned in it. Susannah died a few months later. 1826 was the first year Daniel paid person property tax in Miami County; 1828 was the last year in Montgomery county. Thus he must have moved to Miami County between 1825 and 1827. He continued to pay real estate taxes in Montgomery County but his son John was probably living on the land. In 1832 he paid taxes on a sawmill, a gristmill and a distillery in Miami County. By 1835 the distillery was dropped but he paid taxes through 1838 for the mills. In 1836 he bought land and a sawmill in Webster on the Stillwater River in Darke County. Later he built a gristmill there. Apparently Daniel died in 1840 before the census was taken. Daniel had acquired considerable property since his will was made and had sold off some of the property mentioned in it. There were a number of Common Pleas Court cases in Darke county to settle his estate. Several US patents of his lands in Montgomery County were not registered until after his death.
...Children born in Pennsylvania were: Elizabeth (Septermber 1, 1791) - September 17, 1878) married Jacob Weybright (1788 - 1865) on august 3, 1812 in Montgomery County; Daniel, Jr. (-c1840) married Anna? Phoebe Pitsenbarger September 25, 1817 in Montgomery County, Ohio; Mary (1794 - October 17, 1853) married Jacob Leasure ( 1788 - October 7, 1863) in Montgomery County, Ohio; and John (1799 - 1856) married Elizabeth Michael (1804-1860) March 10, 1822 in Montgomery County, Ohio. (Source: Lois J. Fair, Tired Iron Club and Miami County Historical and Genealogical Society (Ohio), Miami County Family Histories: Tired Iron Book (Miami County Historical & Genealogical Society Inc., 2006) pg. 49.) 
Fetters, Daniel (I623)
 
226
...Dorsey Honeyman is numbered among the native sons of Miami Co, his birth having occurred June 24, 1866, on the old homestead farm now occupied by William Michaels. His father, Andrew Honeyman, was born in Union township, Miami Co, September 16, 1830, and, having arrived at years of maturity, he wedded Mary Pearson, a daughter of Moses Pearson. In their family were four children: Mary E., who died in infancy: Esther, wife of Albert McManus; Dorsey; and Minerva, who also died in infancy. The father of our subject remained on the farm with his family until his marriage, which occurred in 1857. Soon afterward he removed to Monroe township, on section 29, his father giving him forty acres of land there. The place was improved with a house of one room, and a log stable. There Mr. Honeyman remained until about 1870 when he removed to the farm now occupied by his son Dorsey, having there one hundred and fifty-six acres of land on sections 19 and 20, Monroe township. To the development and improvement of that farm he devoted his energies until his death, which occurred in January 1892. The buildings upon the place were erected by him and he made excellent improvements, becoming the owner of one of the attractive and valuable farms of the neighborhood. As his financial resources increased he also extended the boundaries of his farm by additional purchases and became the owner of three hundred and thirteen acres. In politics he was a Democrat, but gave no active attention to campaign work, preferring to devote his time and energies to his business. He died January 2,1892, and was laid to rest in the old family burying ground. His wife passed away some years previous, being called to her final rest in September, 1870, when only thirty years of age.
...Dorsey Honeyman was born and reared on the old family homestead and assisted in the cultivation of the farm until his father's death, when he assumed its management and has since made it his home. He now owns one hundred and fifty-six acres of rich land in this tract and also has other property, including eighty-eight acres in one tract and twenty acres in another tract, making in all about two hundred and sixty-four acres. His methods of farming are practical and progressive and he thoroughly understands the business in every detail, his well tilled fields indicating his careful supervision while the improvements upon the farm stand as monuments of his thrift and enterprise.
...In March, 1887, occurred the marriage of Mr. Honeyman and Miss Annie Stockslager, and to them have been born four children, three of whom are living: Guy, Ethel and Dessie. Bertha, the eldest daughter, is now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Honeyman are widely and favorably known in this locality, having a large circle of friends who esteem them highly for their sterling worth. He is a representative of one of the old families of Miami Co and is a public-spirited citizen who well deserves mention in this volume. 
Honeyman, John Dorsey (I3944)
 
227
...Druzella Eva Jane Florea, eldest child of Joshua and Mary Susan (Peterson) Florea, was born at Newport, Ohio, October 9, 1865, and died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Annis Warden at Blockton, Tuesday, December 4, 1945, at the age of 79 years, 1 month and 25 days.
...In the fall of 1868 she came with her parents by train to Savannah, Missouri, and then by wagon to Worth County, settling on the homestead south of Blockton, where she grew to womanhood. She finished her schooling in Bedford and taught one term of school.
...She was married to Charles S. (umner) Cobb on October 16, 1884. They made the Blockton community their home, except for two short periods, four years in eastern Kansas, and six years near Bedford.
...Three children were born to them, Glenn A. (llen) Cobb, Mrs. Susie M. Yadon and Mrs. Annis W. Warden, all of Blockton. Besides, there are four grandsons and three great grandchildren, five brothers and two sisters.
...She was preceded in death by her husband, Charles (Sumner) Cobb, on July 28, 1935.
...She became obedient to the Gospel in January, 1886, having been baptized by the late William Cobb, 65 years ago. Theirs was a Christian home. They loved the church and made many sacrifices for it.
...Mrs. Cobb suffered a great misfortune seven years ago when a stroke of paralysis robbed her of the normal use of her body. Her speech was taken from her, as well as the pleasure of going and coming as in her former years, but through all this there was no murmuring, no complaining of her lot. She bore it all patiently and with a most commendable fortitude.
...The funeral services were held at Tent Chapel Friday afternoon, conducted by A. R. Kepple of Kansas City. Burial was in Rose Hill cemetery at Blockton. (Source: Find A Grave Memorial# 29498452) 
Florea, Druzella Jane (I3625)
 
228
...Eli W. Honeyman, farmer; P. O. Troy; is a prominent farmer; his parents, John and Mary Honeyman, of Virginia, were pioneers, who emigrated to Miami County early in its settlement. John was a soldier in the war of 1812; we regret so little can be learned of them. Eli was born in Miami County, May 14, 1834; Sept. 29, 1859, he was united in marriage to Miss Annie, daugher of John and Mary Miller. They were also pioneers, and should have a place in this history; their children were ten in number, four only survive--Albert, whose sketch appears in connection with other noted men of Monroe Township, Thomas J., Rhoda Z. and Annie, the wife of Eli Honeyman. They have been the parents of seven children, of whom Oliver M., Willis R., Mattie and Ory, survive; Oliver was born March 7, 1863; Willis, Dec. 11, 1865; Mattie, May 27, 1872; Ory, Jan. 4, 1874. They are all attending school and learning rapidly. Mr. Honeyman has always been prosperous in business, and owns a nice farm of 119 acres; he has been connected with the public schools in capacity of Director. He is a conservative Republican and a good neighbor. (Reference: Evansville, Indiana: Unigraphic, Inc., 1973, reprint, "The History of Miami County Ohio", (Original by W. H. Beers and County, 1880), pg. 650)

...Samuel, served with the First Philadelphia Regiment during the Revolutionary War. During the latter years of his life, he removed his family to Hampshire County, West Virginia, the only son Charles, with his wife Barbara Moore, moved to Miami county with most of their children. Their son, John, bought the Honeyman homestead in 1834. John and wife, Mary Orm were the parents of Eli W., who married Anna Miller. Their son Oliver Miller Honeyman, married Mary Elizabeth Cress. The surname was derived in ye olden days when the family were bee-keepers. (Source: Marie Wilson Musgrave, "The Honeyman Family", (July 1995), pg. 11) 
Honeyman, Eli W. (I2201)
 
229
...Emigrated to America aboard the 'Pennsylvania Merchant' from Rotterdam with his wife Katrina, his two children, young Michael and little Katrina, and two adults, Helena, believed to be his sister Maria Magdalena) and Katrina (relationship unknown)....Arrived in Philadelphia 10 September 1731, and Michael took the Oath of Allegiance to the crown of Great Britain and the Province of Pennsylvania the next day.
...On 26 oct. 1736 he purchased a land warrant for 100 acres in Oley, Philadelphia County. The survey was dated 1 Apr. 1738.
...Naturalized 7 apr. 1761. (Source: Mary Emma Curtis, The Michael Fetters Family : From Their German Roots in Direct Descent to Michael Fetters (1819-1875) of Burr Oak, Indiana and His Descendants. (Clearwater, Florida, 1998), pg. 9.) 
Vetter, Johan Michael (I626)
 
230
...Emigrated to America with his parents, arriving in Philadelphia 10 Sept. 1731.
...On 10th June 1749 acqured Warrant for 25 acres in Alsace Township, Philadelphia Co.
...In 1750 moved to Strasburg; in 1754 to Middle Town; in 1756 served in French & Indian War; in 1768 to Bedford County, where he bought 229 acres near Dunning Creek.
...In 1776 purchased 189 acres near Frankstown, where he built a drist mill and, in 1777 Fetter's Fort, for use in Revolutionary War.
..."As the years passed, young Michael Fetter Jr. began to accumulate property with his earnings as wheelwright. A land warrant was issued on June 10 1749 to Michael Feather Jun. for twenty-five acres in Alsace Township of Philadelphia county (now in Berks County) next to the property of Michael Feather, Sen.
...By 1750, Michael had moved south to the village of Strasburg in Lancaster County, which lay on the Conestoga Trail. This area had been granted to a number of Swiss immigrants in 1710 and it was here that the great Conestoga wagons were built. These served not only as freight wagons for Philadelphia merchants, but as pioneer family transportation for those who were willing to risk the challenges of the wild west of the Pennsylvania beyond the Susquehanna River.
...It was in Strasburg that Michael owned parcel 4a, purchased from John Pontz and his wife Anna, as well as parcel 10a, purchased from John Fautz and his wife ann (Pontz and Fautz may be two spellings of the same name). Michael and his wife Christina sold their parcel 4a to Conrad Leonard (Lenard) and his wife Barbara on july 10, 1750. It appears that Michael and his wife then moved northwestward to Middle Town on the Susquehanna downstream from Harrisburg, since on June 26, 1764 the couple sold a lot on the south side of the Market Place in Middle Town to Martin Gryter of Don'l Township for 50 pounds." (Source: Mary Emma Curtis, The Michael Fetters Family : From Their German Roots in Direct Descent to Michael Fetters (1819-1875) of Burr Oak, Indiana and His Descendants. (Clearwater, Florida, 1998), pg. 9) 
Vetter, Johan Michael (I617)
 
231
...England in the early 1600's was a land of dispirit and under a monarch. It gave subjects little chance to change their position in life. so the migration to a plantation, set up by boards of business men supplying money for ships and supplies, was the answer to a better life. It was a hard life in the colonies, trying to meet the demands from England and just surviving in the wilderness from day to day.
...In 1610 the ships, "Patience" and Deliverance" arrived in Jamestown. Spring was in the air, certainly the planting season was soon to start. The arrival of new adventurers and suppliers was always cause for celebration and thanksgiving. Unconfirmed family stories say that Henry Ivins was part of this group that arrived in Jamestown that day. We do have proof that he was in the colonies in the early 1600's thanks to "The Journal of Thomas Gates". We also know that Henry worked for the Dutch company, Gabrey & Sons of Amsterdam as a fur trader from 1633-1639, and that he owned land in Salem County, New Jersey in 1687 as mentioned in Shrouds "History and Genealogy of Fenwick's Colony". It is evident that he was in the area and probably began a family line that exists through the country today.
...At the age of 19 Henry went up the James River to Chesapeake in the Delaware River to Raccoon Creek. Here he spent three days building a wigwam. Henry then set up trading post with the Indians. Some of the items he bartered were guns, beads, blankets, and cloth. In return he received skins of mink, beaver and other animals. He spent two years trading with the Metacoms tribe. During this period Henry carved out a canoe and assembled rafts to carry his furs to buyers. He floated down the Delaware River to the Hudson, then on to New Amsterdam. The demand for furs was great, and he sold them all to the commercial firm of Gabrey and sons of Amsterdam. The Dutch company hired him to continue his fur trade with the Indians from 1633-1639.
...Henry also traded in tobacco which mean periodic trips to Jamestown plantations. In 1645 Henry went back to Penn's Neck, a Swedish area, to buy land from his friends, Chief Necomis and his mother Necosshehesco. He had found a woman he wanted to marry and decided it was time to settle down and start a family. Although there is no written proof, it seems likely that their first born was Daniel, who records show owned land in Penn's Neck about the time Henry's son would have. Very unlikely any Ivins would not be related at that time. Like all colonial families all members shared the work on the farm. Typical crops were corn and wheat, and livestock were pigs, chickens and cows.
...In 1675 John Fenwich arrived with the first English settlement that could be considered lasting.
Charles II was King of England at that time, and to quiet problems with the Swedes and the Dutch (after their defeat by England) arrangement was made for quick claiming of property purchased from the Indians. This protected land owners of record at the time. It was also agreed to pay a Right of Conveyance to England so the land owners could sell or transfer title if they desired to do so. (Compiled by Adam Brockie, Maureen Brockie, Ivins Family History 1610-1920 (November 2005: Self Published), pg. 2. (November 2005), pg. 2) 
Ivins, Henry (I3429)
 
232
...Enlisted for six months in the companies of Captains Stack and Lee of Colonel Mitchell's regiment, Hampshire County, Virginia in the spring of 1780.
...Abijah Flora, a carpenter from Virginia served in the Revolutionary War. He settled in Hellers Bottom on Paint Creek in Twin Township, Ross County, Ohio. He died at the age of 70.
...In his pension application he claimed to have been born in 1757 in Hampshire County, Virginia and that he moved to Ross County, Ohio in 1799. Abijah probably followed his uncle Robert Flora to Mason County, Kentucky and spent a few years there before coming to Ohio in 1799. Abijah Flora appears as witness on a Mason County, Kentucky land deed in 1798.
...A party of forty or so families from the Mason County, Kentucky area started a new settlement on Paint Creek, now Ross County, Ohio. Some of the settlers were also from the Hampshire County, Virginia area and included Abijah. His son Thomas, a long time resident of Ross County, furnished a substitute in the war of 1812. Friends were: Rev. James B. Finley, William Murphy, Jacob Myers and Simon Girty, Jr.
...The 1784 census of Hampshire County, Virginia lists Abijah Flora three souls, 1 dwelling. Abijah and Isaac Flora witnessed a survey for Joseph Flora at mouth of Steer run on the Potomac River. 9 July 1782. (Source: Gladys Donson and Lawrence F. Athy, Jr., "The Thomas Flora Family of London, Maryland & Virginia", (Houston, TX: Donath Publishing, 1995), pg. 18)

REVOLUTIONARY WAR PENSION RECORD...(R. 3, 616)
Virginia
Ohio, Ross County, 19 Nov. 1832
...Personally appeared before the Judges of the Supreme court of Ross County, Abijah Flora, a resident of Twin Township, aged 75 years, doth on his oath make this declaration:
...That he enlisted in the Revolutionary Army from Hampshire County, Virginia, where he resided, about the spring of the year 1780. He served under captains Stocton and Lee, in Col. Mitchell's Regiment of Regular Troops. He was employed the whole time Boating Provisions from the mouth of the Conegochea to Old Town in Maryland for the Western Army. At the Expiration of his tour of 6 months he was discharged, but he has lost his discharge.
...That from information received from his parents he was born in Hampshire County, Virginia, in the year 1757, where he resided until 1799, when he removed to Ross County, Ohio, where he has resided for the last 33 years.
...That he has no documentary evidence of his services, and knows of no Person whose testimony he can procure, except the testimony of Phillip Hartley, which is herewith attached.
Signed Abijah (his mark) Flora

...Phillip Hartley of Pike County, Ohio, deposed that he was intimately acquainted with Abijah Flora while he resided in Hampshire County, Va., which was from his youth until the close of the Revolution.
...Said Abijah Flora enlisted and served his country, boating for the time of six months previoius to the surrender of Cornwallis.
...Mr. John Hicks and Mr. William Keane, both clergymen and residing in Twin Township, certify that they are well acquainted with Abijah Flora and believe him to be 75 years of age, and from long acguaintance with him know that he is a man of strictest truth.
Ohio, Ross County, 27, Sept. 1852

...Thomas Flora, aged about 70 years, and Robert Flora, aged about 64 years, residence of Ross County, state on oath that they are sons of Abijah Flora, deceased, who was a soldier in the Revolution, whose claim for a pension is suspended at the Pension Office at Washington City.
...Said Abijah died in Ross co. in 1840, they believe May 10.
...Their mother was named Margaret Flora, died in Ross County, 22 March 1838. Their father and mother were married in 1775. They resided in Ross Co. from 1799 to their deaths.
...They have appointed James McLain, attorney, to procure for them and other heirs at law of Abijah Flora, to demand and receive from the U. S. Government all manner of Claims for Pension, Increase of Pension, land, or what may be due us as children of Abijah Flora.
...John Flora, aged 62, adds his testimony in same words, except that he states his brothers and himself were the only surviving children of Abijah at his death. (Source: Compiled by, Walter W. Bunderman, "Flory, Flora, Fleury", (Lebanon County Flory Reunion Organization 1948) pg. 272 supplement)


- One of the first settlers in "hallers bottom" (Upper Twin Rd.)- Was a lieutenant in the Revolutionary War
- Twin Twsp. election of 1810 he was elected "fence viewer".
- He entered service from Hampshire Co. VA 1780-81 to transport military supplies by riverboat during the Revolutionary War.
- He moved to Ross Co. in 1799.
- Application for bounty land warrant was denied because he did not serve 6 months.
- Supposedly is buried in Old Twin Cemetery.
- Info from: Virginia/West Virginia Genealogical Doct. from Rev. War Pension and Bounty Land Records Vol. 2 Dabbs - Hyslop. compiled by Patrick G. Wardell Lt. Col. US Army retired. Heritage books Inc
Find A Grave Memorial# 46257895 
Flora, Abijah (I1427)
 
233
...Enos Doolittle was a Yankee peddler who came to Centerville in 1820 and opened a dry goods store. When the business did not do so well he sold out and bought lot #28 from his father-in-law, Benjamin Robins, where he built the "Doolittle Tavern", in 1823. Benjamin Robbins also deeded Enos another small farm south of Franklin street.
...In 1824 Bathsheba and Enos took Elizabeth Stiles, age 12, a daughter of widow Sarah Stiles as an apprentice to be taught "housewifery'.
...The Doolittle Tavern was opened in 1832. It was the finest and most famous stopping off place west of the Alleghenies. The large dining room was 40 feet long and 20 feet wide and was used both for a dining room and as a ballroom. As such, the Doolittle Tavern was the social center of the community.
...In the middle of the nineteenth century stagecoach wheels rumbled up the hill into the town of Centerville from Cincinnati and Lebanon. A sturdy team at the head of the coach halted at the Doolittle Tavern to bring such distiguished guests as Charles Dickins, William Henry Harrison and Henry Clay during Harrison's 1840 election campaign.
...Behind the long stone structure was a huge stable to shelter the horses used on the stage coach route between Cincinnati and Dayton.
...Enos Doolittle continued to operate the Tavern until after his wife, Bathesheba died then in 1845 he moved to Columbus, Ohio (Source: Compiled by Irene L. Shrope, "Nutt Family of Ohio and New Jersey", (1992 Revised and Up-Dated 1993) pg. 194)

Enos Doolittle and the Doolittle Tavern
...The story of Enos Doolittle and his tavern is one of success and tragedy. According to Beers, History of Montgomery County, 1882, it was the most famous tavern in the township and was known as the best place to stop west of the Alleghenies. Enos Doolittle, a Yankee peddler, arrived in Centerville in 1820. We have no records that tell us when or where he was born or who his parents were. He immediately rented a building and opened a dry goods store. Two years later, he purchased Lot 14 and 18 on the south side of Cross Street (now Franklin Street) for $300. In October of that year he married 16-year-old Bathsheba Robbins, the youngest daughter of Benjamin and Bathsheba Nutt Robbins, first settlers in Centerville.
...In September 1823, Enos purchased Lot 26 for $400, erected a two-story stone building and opened a tavern. The Doolittle Tavern was very successful and busy with guests from out of town, so Enos decided to expand. He created an inn for travelers by using the upstairs of the tavern for sleeping quarters. He built a stable in the back for the visitor's horses. He added a one-story stone addition to the south and called it the Bar Room. It contained a large table for his guests to dine on. And when the table was pushed aside, it was a good place to hold dances and other social events. In front stood a large signpost with a picture of a rising sun and the words "The Sun Shines for All."
...Gradually, however, his good life changed. In May 1835, Enos and Bathsheba's daughter, Mary, died at age fifteen months. In October 1840, their sixteen-month-old daughter, Roxanna, died. In February 1841, Enos was appointed postmaster of Centerville, but shortly afterward he suffered a debilitating stroke. However, he was still able to run the tavern and serve as postmaster. in January 1845, a son William was born. in February, one month later, his wife Bathsheba died at the age of thirty-nine, and in April of that same years, William died at three months of age. Enos closed the tavern and he and a daughter moved to Columbus, Ohio.
...In 1909, a letter written by Enos' daughter, Mrs. Bancroft of Columbus, was read at the new Town Hall dedication.
..."Being a child in early teens when my home was broken up, I cannot remember much of the town's early history, yet I have with me the sweet memory of my good father's cordial welcome to all. he was afflicted with paralysis. The unpretentious inn was known far and wide as a veritable traveler's rest. Many celebrities among whom I remember William H. Harrison, Thomas Corwin and Henry Clay rested there. Harrison spent the night of September 9, 1840 in our home. Next morning was all bustle and excitement. It seemed everyone was going to the Whig Convention to be held in Dayton the next day. In 1843, Henry Clay with a colored servant, a novelty in Centerville at that time, spent the night with us.... I felt quite honored because I had a hearty handshake of these famous men, and very likely gloated over it childlike, you know. Before the days of the railroads, many people traveled in the private conveyances and found comfort in our simple home."
...Enos and Bathsheba also had four "charming " daughters who lived - Amelia, Philena, Harriet, and Eugenia. The Doolittles and their tavern affected many people. The traveler appreciated a place for a rest and a good meal. The townsfolk enjoyed a place to socialize and the excitement of out-of-town visitors. They influenced both the people at the time and the history of Centerville and Washington Township.
...The Doolittle Tavern, suffering from neglect, was razed in 1908 to make way for a new Township Hall. A barn on East Franklin, where today's MacDigger's bar is located, had served as the old Town Hall and was moved to the Weller farm.
...The new Town Hall served as a place for village and township government meetings, civic functions, social gatherings, graduations, and other community events. The village water tower and fire department were once located here.
...In 1994, the township restored the Town Hall to its original style adding handicap accessibility. It is presently being used for theater and programs. (Source: http://www.mvcc.net/Centerville/histsoc/townhall.htm, 05 July 2007)

...John Archer opened up the first tavern in Centerville. with the sign of the "cross keys."
...Since that time, there have been many taverns in the township. good. bad and indifferent, with probably a predominance in favor of the good. The most famous was that of Enos Doolittle, and it soon came to be known far and near as the best stopping-place for travelers west of the Alleghanies.
...This gentleman, who was a genuine type of the New England Yankee, came to the town in 1820 as a peddler. With keen Yankee foresight, he saw an opening for trade in the town and immediately opened up a dry goods store. This, however, did not agree with him, and, purchasing suitable property, he opened a tavern in 1832. In 1822 or 1823, he was married to Miss Bathsheba Robbins. and continued in the place until after her death. in 1845, when he re-moved to Columbus. (Source: Evansville, Indiana: Unigraphic, Inc., 1973, a reproduction of, "History of Montgomery County, Ohio", (original published - Chicago, Illinois: W. H. Beers & County, 1882, pg. 12) 
Doolittle, Enos (I1304)
 
234
...Ensign John Biggs of Worcestershire, England, immigrated to America in 1664. He was a soldier in the military expedition of Colonel Richard Nicolls who defeated the Dutch and established English rule in New York (then New Amsterdam) and Delaware. On May 25, 1664, Co., Richard Nicolls departed from Portsmouth, England, on four ships with 300 soldiers and 450 men. on August 29, 1664, when the Nicholls' expedition arrived at New Amsterham, Governor Peter Stuyvesant surrendered to them. Not a shot had been fired. Sir Robert Carr, commissioned by Col. Nicolls, pressed on and captured Delaware on September 30, 1664 and Fort Amstel on October 13, 1664. Fort Amstel's name was changed to Newcastle and the British now controlled New York and Delaware.
...John Biggs, John Ogle, Thomas Wollaston, James Crawford and Lieutenant George Hall served together as military comrades in the Nicolls expedition. Ogle, Wollaston and Crawford settled in Delaware as neighbors. John Biggs and George Hall stayed in New York. Members of these families would pioneer, marry and settle together for generations, moving through Delaware and New York, New Jersey, Maryland and Virginia. Some of them ultimately settled in Illinois.
...After his service to the crown, John Biggs settled in New York near the Hudson River at Kingston, about halfway between New York and Albany. No record can be found of his first marriage, but he was a widower on September 28, 1686, when he married Mary Hall, the daughter of George Hall, lieutenant in the Nicolls expedition. The record of their marriage was recorded by a Dutchman. The entry reads:
"Jan Biggs of O. Engeland (Old England) in Oostershire (Worcestershire), widower, resid. In Morbelton (Marbletown) and Mary Hal, J. D., born in Kingstowned (Kingston, NY) and resid. as above."

...In 1666, John Biggs set what was to become a Biggs family tradition and fought the Indians in New York. in april of 1669, the commissioners appointed by Governor Lovelace (Nicolls' successor) formally organized the militia of Hurley and Marbletown under the following commissioned officers: "henry Pawling, Captain; Christopher Beresford, Lieut; John Biggs, Ensign." Most, if not all, of these men were professional soldiers, George Hall, was a soldier in the Marbletown company. In August 1685, the company for Hurley and Marbletown was co-officered by the now Lieutenant John Biggs. In his book "The Skillmans of American", by William J. Skillman, Skillman describes a special contingent of twenty five men sent by the Governor of New York to "chastise the Indians who three years previously had perpetrated the cruel Wiltwyck Massacre." among these were joohn Biggs and George Hall. The twenty five men were promised "a land bounty of ten acres each at Esopus." (Esopus is the old Indian name for present day Kingston, New York.) Mr. Skillman goes on to state that "some of them, the savages having been punished, settled down and made their homes in that region so recently harried." In 1674, George Hall was made "Schout" (Dutch for "Sherriff") of Esopus.

...The Calendar of New York Land Papers 1643-1803 contains the following entries on John Biggs and George Hall:

"p. 6 - 1675 March 1. Minute of a grant from the Court at Marbleton, to Jan Bigg of a small piece of land. V I , p. 58.

March 9. Minute of a grant from the court at Kingston to George Hall of a small piece of land. VI, p. 59.

p. 7 - 1676 March 7. Conveyance from Madam Johanna DeLast, wife of Jeronimus Ebbing to George Hall, for a tract of land lying at the Great Bridge, at Kingston. V. 1, p. 68

p. 14 - 1676 Nov. 13. Description of survey of 20 acres of land being part of a tract known as the Butterfield, lying to ye southwest of Marbletown, laid out for George Hall (with draught). Vol. 1, p. 97.

p. 15 - 1677 May 8. Minute of a grant from the court at Kingston to Lieut. George Hall, of 6 acres of land over the Mill Kill. Vol. 1, p. 112"3
(Source: "The Biggs Family", Janet M. Flynn, p1-2 - Ensign John Biggs; PDF, Family History Books (http://books.familysearch.org/) 
Biggs, Ensign John (I5783)
 
235
...Eva Albertse (Andriessen) was the daughter of Albert Andriessen of Fredrikstad, Norway. She arrived, in company with her parents and two brothers, one of whom was born on the sea, at New Amsterdam, March 4, 1637. She lived with them in the vicinity of the present Albany, where she in in October, 1647, was married to Antony de Hooges, one of the leading men in the colony of Rensselaerswyck. He was a widower with several children.
...After his death she was married August 13, 1657, to Roeloff Swartwout who became sheriff of the present county of Ulster, New York. (Source: John O. Evjen Ph.D., Scandinavian Immigrants in New York 1630-1674 (Minneapolis, Minn.: K. C. Holter Publishing Company, 1916), p30) 
Albertse, Eva (I6314)
 
236
...Family stories say that James was born in England in 1740 but raised in Dublin, Ireland and was a tailor. Not proved, but possible. Family stories also credit James Colvin with having served in the Revolutionary War during all 8 years of it, and state that his death was the result of his exposure during that war. However, no proof of any such service has ever been found.
...By 1787, James Colvin and family, and a number of the Salisburys had moved to Fayette County, Pennsylvania (then Westmoreland) where they appear in tax records, and James is listed in the 1790 census in Georges Twp. of Fayette County. He does not appear in the 1800 Fayette County, Pennsylvania census although his sons were still living there at that time. Shortly after 1800, the Colvin sons with their widowed mother removed to Highland County, Ohio after a short sojourn in Mason County, Kentucky. 
Colvin, James (I1421)
 
237
...George Fetters, Michael's oldest boy, married Elizabeth Switzer and the couple had a family of 12 between 1770 and 1790. George appeared on the Bedford Township, Bedford Co. tax lists in 1778. by 1784. he had a family of seven and in the next six years, it grew to eleven. On March 11, 1789, George paid 25 pounds for 300 acres to James Ferrel who held a warrant issued to Michael Hodgkins on November 15, 1785. The land was located on the headwaters of the Little Juniata River in Antis Township next to Thomas and John Coleman's property. He held 116 acres of this land for the rest of his life.
...George administered his father's estate at his mother's request in 1789. He served as an attorney in Allegheny Township of Huntingdon County when he became his brother Daniel's attorney in 1809.
...George had served as overseer of the poor for Allegheny Township in 1797. He was County Supervisor in 1798 and 1800, and he served as Constable in 1801.
...In the 1800 census, George was maintaining a household of 16 which probably included some in-law children and grandchildren. He owned several sections of land in Blair County including a warrant for 400 acres next to John Blair and William Fetters Improvement in Allegheny Township. On December 2, 1813, he sold his land to Adam Crick and John Riggie for $150.00.
... He purchased and consolidated several small tracts of land for $398.20 on july 2, 1811. This 199 acres next to John Holliday's property was later sold to Thomas Snyder for $1,500.00.
...George also held a warrant issued on September 27, 1780 for 100 acres on the west branch to Blair's Mill Branch along the foot of Alleghney Mountain between the branch and the olf gap where the Indian path led to Kitanning Old Town from Frankstown.
...In 1810 and 1811 George was reappointed Overseer of the Poor.
...In 1812, George secured a patent with the date of July 30 from President Madison through the Steubenville, Ohio Land Office and purchased 163.2 acres in Stark County, Ohio at $2.00 an acre. A short time later, George and his family moved to Stark Co. leaving at least the oldest son, Jacob, on the Antis Township property in Blair Co. another son, George Jr., who was raising his own family, also stayed behind, but four years later moved to Stark Co.
...George (Sr.) found that the land he had purchased was heavily timbered in this section of Pike Township and he was forced to clear it with only simple tools and the help of his sons: George, Philip and Daniel.

...George Fetter had been one of the early settlers in the Upper Juniata Valley in Pennsylvania. He had joined his father and brothers at their grist mill (the Fetter's Mill Tract) and helped defend the area at Fetter's Fort during the Revolutionary War. He married Elizabeth Switzer in 1770, and first appeared on the Tax Lists of Bedford Township in 1776. In the 1788 Assessment of Frankstown, when it became a part of Huntingdon County, he owned 100 acres of land, 2 horses and 2 cows. valued at 129 pounds.
...His main property was on the headwaters of the Little Juniata River in Antis Township north of Altoona, between Riggles Gap Run and Sugar Run, near the Antis Cemetery and Salem Church. On march 11, 1789 he paid 25 pounds for this 400-acre property to James Ferrel, who held a warrant issued to Michael Hodgkins on November 15, 1785. It was located on Clearfield Creek, next to Thomas and John Coleman's property. He held 116 acres of this land for the rest of his life.
...George Fetter also bought other sections of land in Blair and Huntingdon Counties, including:

...Warrant #105 dated April 5, 1798 for 400 acres next to John Blair and William Fetters Improvement in Allegheny Township. On December 2, 1813 he sold this land to Adam Crick and John Riggle for $150.00.
...A warrant issued September 27, 1790 for 100 acres on the west branch of Blair's Mill Branch, along the foot of Allegheny Mountain, between the branch and the gap where the old Indian path led to Kittanning.
...On July 2, 1811 he purchased and consolidated several small tracts of land for $398.10. these 199 acres, next to John Holliday's property, were later sold to Thomas Snyder for $1,500.

...In the 1790 census, George Fetter was maintaining a household of 11 and in 1800, the family had increased to 16, which probably included some in-law children and grandchildren.
...The 1794 Tax List for Allegheny Township (at that time embracing areas of the present Allegheny, Logan and Antis Townships) shows that George owned 400 acres; and his brothers Michael Jr. and John each owned 30 acres.
...George and his brother Daniel had administered their father's estate, at their mother's request, in 1789. George served as an attorney in Allegheny Township in 1809, when Daniel (then living in Ohio) requested George to collect all debts due him. George also held the following Allegheny Township offices:

1797 - Appraiser
1798 - Overseer of the Poor
1800 - Overseer of the Poor
1801 - Constable
1810 - Overseer of the Poor
1811 - Overseer of the Poor

...While still a resident of Huntingdon County, Pennsylvania, George Fetter began buying land in Pike Township, Stark County, Ohio, through the Land Office at Steubenville, Ohio. His first purchase was the Southeast Quarter of Section 29 (Township 9, Range 8), which he acquired for $2 an acre. He received a U. S. Patent signed by President James Madison for this land (160 acres) on July 30, 1812. This tract was to become the "Homestead Farm" for three generations of Fetters - George, his son George Jr., and grandson Benjamin. Then on Quarter of Section 24, which lies northeast of the present town of East Sparta. In May of 1813, Peter Michael (husband of George's daughter Catherine) bought land in the Southeast Quarter of Section 24 at the Steubenville Land Office, and it was paid in full March 18, 1816 ($326.50). The Patent, when issued on June 5, 1816, was to George Fetters, as assignee of Peter Michael. Perhaps this was to George's son, George Fetters Jr.
...So, in late 1812, George Fetter (at age 64), his wife Elizabeth and most of his married children migrated to Ohio. With this move, their surname now became "Fetters". George and Elizabeth took up residence on the heavily-timbered land of Section 29, and his sons Phillip, Daniel and George Jr. (after his arrival in 1815) helped him clear this land. His oldest son Jacob stayed in Pennsylvania on his own 100-acre property in Antis Township, next to his father's 116 acres there. After Jacob's untimely death in 1815, leaving ten children ranging in age from 20 down to 3 months, George and Elizabeth established a trust with their 116 acres of land in Antis Township, for the better maintenance, support and livelihood of the grandchildren, the heirs of Jacob Fetter.
...Canton, the county seat of Stark County, consisted of 30 inhabitants in 1815. Alex Hurford, who was born in Canton in 1817, described the early days there in a conversation with Henry Howe in 1846:

..."Before the building of the Ohio canal, the people were wretchedly poor for the want of a market. Within my memory, the farming folks used to start to church Sundays barefoot, carrying their shoes and stockings in a handkerchief until they got to the foot of south hill, near where Aultman & Company's works now are, when they would stop and put them on. At that time wheat brought but 25¢ a bushel and had no outlet except by wagon to Cleveland and Pittsburg.
..."The only things that would bring cash were beeswax and ginseng. Store coffee then cost 50¢ a pound. It could not be bought without ginseng, beeswax or money. Most well-to-do families made it a point to have store coffee on Sunday; on other days used coffee from burnt rye or wheat. My father, about 1823, kept a store on the southeast corner of Market Square. He paid about 25¢ a pound for ginseng. It was cut into, say, about four-inch pieces and strung on strings, like as our grandmothers used to string their apples for drying. The ginseng was sent to Pittsburg in wagons and thence to China... They used it as a substitute for opium and as joss sticks, to burn as incense before their idols.
..."My father was at the beginning, farmer, miller and distiller. Whiskey sold for two cents a dram, or 18¢ a gallon: and everybody drank. in the spring of 1821 or 1822, he loaded two flat-boats with whiskey at Bethlehem in this county, for New Orleans. The river changed its name according to the branches that poured into it. At Bethlehem it was the 'Tuscarawas', lower down 'White Woman', then 'White Woman' was succeeded by 'One Leg', and that went into the 'Muskingum', which in the Indian signifies an 'Elk's Eye', and next came the Ohio, the 'Beautiful river'. This swelled the 'Father of Waters' and so at last, on the bosom of these many waters, father's whiskey got to New Orleans.
..."When the idea of the Ohio canal going through Canton was broached, it met with great opposition from some of the leading men, who fought it away, and it was located eight miles west and made the town of Massillon, and that sunk Canton for 20 years. Among its opponents were three old doctors, who shook their heads, looked wise and said it would increase the ague; almost everybody was then shaking with the ague. Every season seven out of ten had their turn at the shakes... My father claimed the canal would create a current and drain the swamps. When it was finished the sanitary effect of the measure was astonishing. It drained the swamps throughout its course and malaria largely disappeared through its influence.
..."The very first state of the work was beneficial. The canal was principally dug by Ohio farm boys; eldest sons of the farmers who earned from $6 to $10 per month and boarded at home; this with a larger part of them was about the first chance that they ever had to get a whack at any money. And this greatly benefited the farming people; put them in happy smiling frames of mind. Massillon at once sprang into a great wheat market for a large section of country: for Stark, Carroll, Wayne, Holmes and Richland Counties."

...On October 17, 1823 George Fetters sold 80 acres of his Southeast Quarter of Section 29 to his son John. George died without a will in late 1823, at age 75. The "History of Canton and Stark County" published in 1904, reported that George "commanded the high regard of all who knew him".
...Christian Swenk, the administrator of his estate, reported to the court the final settlement that was made:

Sale of Personal property $ 385.12
Amount taken by widow at appraisement 99.19
Amount of debts collected 606.00
Total 1,090.31

...The court ordered the sale of the 160-acre portion (Southwest Quarter, Section 24) of his estate and on March 18, 1826 it was offered for sale at the door of the Stark County Courthouse in Canton. Phillip Fetters purchased it for $314. being the highest and best bidder according to Timothy Reed, Sheriff.
...George Fetters' son John died without a will in 1828, and after a court suit, the 80 acres of "Homestead Farm" were awarded to George Fetters, Jr. 
Fetters, George (I603)
 
238
...Henry Kessler was born February 21, 1813 in Miami County the son of John Bowman Kessler and Susannah Feese. Henry was raised on the farm and was a farmer all of his life. He married Serene Goings, daughter of Michael Goings and Mary Honeyman, on March 12, 1835. Henry farmed and owned farms in Union Township one being Section 14, Township 06 Range 05.
...Henry and Serene had twelve children: John W. born January 7, 1836, Mary Ann born August 18, 1838, David Andrew born July 28, 1839, Susan Elizabeth born May 14, 1842, Thomas Jefferson born March 23, 1843, Rebecca Ellen born July 12, 1845, James Henry born January 27, 1848, Michael Madison born January 31, 1850, Martin Scott born November 4, 1852, Charles Warren born August 11, 1855, Sarah Dora born November 9, 1857, Infant born September 16, 1860.
...Henry died on his farm on January 12, 1878 and his wife daughter until she passed away on January 1, 1898. Henry and Serene are buried side-by-side at the Wheelock Cemetery, Union township, Miami County, Ohio. (Source: Miami County Historical & Genealogical Society; typed and indexed by Lois J. Fair, "Miami County Family Histories Tired Iron book", (Ohio Genealogical Society. Miami County Historical & Genealogical Society, c2006 ), pg. 110) 
Kessler, Henry (I4687)
 
239
...His youthful shenanigans having been duly brought to public attention and publicily punished, Joseph Benham apparently settled down to being a solid citizen, first, of New Haven, and later, of Wallingford, Connecticut.
...At a session of the New Haven Court of 5 February, 1655, it was noted: "John Benhan, Senior, passeth over to his sonn Joseph Benham all the accommodations which belonged to that lott which was at first given him by the Towne." We know that he had been made Freeman the year before that....Probably Joseph spent the next two years farming and getting a home built for his intended bride, for on 15 January, 1657, in Boston, Joseph Benham married Winifred King of that town. We's not been able to find the names of Winifred's parents. There were many King families in all of the settlements.
...Joseph and Winifred had fourteen children during their marriage. Only six of them lived beyond infancy or early childhood.
...In 1660, just a year before John Benham's death, New Haven, which had been a independent colony, became part of the State of Connecticut. After that, the General Court was held at Hartford, though there were still regular town meetings in the town of New Haven.
...Church and state were closely allied. People must attend church on Sunday. As the population grew, town and church leaders worried about the souls of people who lived too far away from the meeting house to get to church without spending the night in town. They began thinking in terms of starting a new colony "above ye great Plaine.
...Two years went into planing the new village, building a meeting house, and hiring a minister. Planters to settle the new town were selected by a committee as being "fit and offering themselves, so far as it can consist with the good of the place and capacity thereof."
...A Covenant for the new town of Wallingford was drawn up and signed by the heads of families chosen. Among them were Joseph Benham, Nathaniel Merriman, and Eliasaph Preston.
...Little is known of the wives of most early colonists. Winifred Benham was an exception, though not for a reason she would have wished. Other than the death of so many children at an early age (and that was apparently a common problem, considering the state of sanitation and medicine in those early times), things seemed to be going well for the Benham family. The children who did grow up married and started families.
...In November of 1692, though, Winifred Benham and her thirteen-year-old youngest daughter, also named Winifred, were accused of witchcraft trials in Salem and other ciites in Massachusetts. News traveled fast, probably by traders, and it would seem that some adolescent girls must have wondered, if their counterparts in other towns were getting so much attention by accusing people of witchcraft, why shouldn't they? Witchcraft was taken seriously, and had been for many centuries in Europe. People who were perfectly innocent were pointed out as the cause of all kind of misfortunes,m and all the accuser had to assert was the "witch's" shape had appeared to them before the misfortune occurred.
...At any rate, the Benham women, Winifreds Sr. and Jr., were accused, and the trials continued at frequent intervals over the next five years. Twice, during those years, Joseph had to pay large bonds, once 20 pounds and later, 40 pounds, to assure their appearance in Court. Even after acquittal, in August, 1697, the same young people accused them again. At that point, Joseph and both Winifreds fled to New York State, where two married daughters already lived. Young Winifred, like her two older sisters, married in New York. Joseph died there in 1703.
...Two sons, Joseph, Jr., and James, remained in Wallingford, and it was there that the Benham real estate was divided among the heirs in 1727-1728. (Source: written and edited by Lela (Shepherd) Wilkins, with added research and writing by Gladys (Benham) Hall, June (Benham) Stricklin and Loretta (Lee) Chapman, The American Ancestors of William R. Benham (1823-1907) and his Wife, Helen Maria Bingham (1827-1900)(: Cousins Etc., 1994) Chapter 2, pg. 9-11.)

Joseph was the son of John Benham and first wife, probably named Mary. (Note: both sons named their first daughters Mary)

Joseph Benham took the oath of fidelity in 1654. " EARLY FAMILIES OF WALLINGFORD, Connecticut", pg.47 says Joseph Benham came from New Haven to Wallingford in 1670 with the first settlers in the village, and some of his children were born after his removal there.

"A MEETING OF YE COURT EXTRAORDINARY, MARCH 23, 1652"
"Upon a complaint made to ye govenor of sundrie in ye Towne that had committed much wickedness in a filthy corrupting way with another, they were called before the Govenor & Magistrats, visd: Benjamin Bunill, Joshua Bradley, Joseph Benham, William Trobridg, Thomas Tutill and Thomas Kimberly: they were examined in a private way, and their examination taken in wrighting, wch were of such a filthy nature as is not fitt to be made known in a publique way: after wch the Court weere called together, and ye youthes before them; their examinations were read and vpon their severall confessions the Court, being mett at the meeting house vpon the day aboue written, sentenced the youthes aboue named to bee whipt publiquly."

Joseph Benham, Jun 25
In the year 1677, there was a grant of land "at the head of the plains," which is another phrase which by which Hanover was then designated. A very natural phrase; for at that point, the stretch of level land which extends comes from New Haven, through North Haven and Wallingford terminates. In 1680 a grant was made "to Sam'l Hough, to settle on the head of the plain near to Nehemiah Royces". In 1689 this "head of the plain," or "falls plain," was considered so beautiful a spot, that it was reqularly laid out for a village. The main street was to be eighty rods long, and on each side of it were staked out bilding lots; the western lots extending to the hill, and the eastern ones to the river. These lots were assigned by raffle, each planter in the town of Wallingford being allowed to draw one lot. "Att a lawful towne meetin 19 Febrary, 1689-90, the towne voted Yt falles plaine shall be cast lots for and laid out according to above written ....and mape. The Lotts being cast each mans Lott is as followeth Joseph Benham, sen 63. 
Benham, Joseph (I572)
 
240
...Honeyman, Benjamin; from Penna.; buried on farm; d. Feb 9, 1876 age 86-11-27; wife Hannah, d. Apr. 19, 1875, age 77 yrs. (Some records give his wife as Mary Knife). Benjamin, prob. the son of Charles and Barbara, who are buried on the farm lot, Charles Honeyman d. Mar 24, 1838, age 73 yrs.; Barbara d. Aug 25, 1845, age 76 yrs.
...Benjamin had issue known:
John, Benjamin, Serena, wife of George Idemiller; Anna, wife of Samuel Curtis; Andrew, Michael.
...Andrew, born Union Twp. Sept 16, 1830 married Mary Pearson, (dau of Moses); issue - Mary Esther, wife of Alfred McManus; Dorsey, Minerva.
...Michael b. Sept 1, 1820 m. Dec 18, 1845, Lucinda Hoover, dau. John, Jr. and Mary Carroll Hoover): issue - Webster, Sarah, Wife of William Frantz; Benjamin, Almeda, wife of David James; Emeline, wife of Ira Grisso; Cora, wife of Frank Fritz, John, George, Hanford, Harvey, Enos. (Source: 977.1d2b, pg. 76) 
Honeyman, Benjamin (I2342)
 
241
...Hugh and Mary Strettell had become convinced by Robert Barclay (joined the Society of Friends) sometime between the end of 1654 when Elizabeth was born and October 18, 1655 when James was born. His aged father, Thomas, was evidently living with them and became convinced also, and so was buried in Mobberley Quakers burial ground and not in the Church burial ground.
...The Stretells, or Strethulls, were presumably not politically minded or inclined, and so gave their attention to the land and its cultivation, and so, because of the division and sub-division of the original estate, which came through Gilbert de Strethull or De la Mare and his son William in the twelfth or thirteenth century, owing to the large increase of families of the same blood, the title of gentleman was dropped, and some became practically yeomen, but they were, as the Mobberley Parish Official Record states "The Strettells were substantial yeomen."
...Evidently Hugh Strettell was substantial, indeed, for he owned Brown Edge farm, near Brown Edge hamlet, and Blakely House, and when the estate of Saltersley came to the daughters of Francis Hulme in 1662, he being entitled to one part, jure uxoris, bought the shares of the other co-heiresses, the sisters of his wife, Mary, and so became sole owner of Saltersley Mansion in 1655.
...James married a Quakeress. Amos and Abell Strettell came to Dublin towards the end of the seventeenth century and became wealthy merchants there. Robert Strettell, the fifth son of Amos Strettell, who went to Ireland circa 1678-79, settled there. (Source: Rev. William Beck, F.S.A.G., "Gleanings From the Past", (Sydney, New South Wales) 
Strettell, Hugh (I3912)
 
242
...In the year 1710, Preserve Brown, Sr., removed from Chesterfield Monthly Meeting to Burlington monthly Meeting, residing at Mansfield, a few miles from Bordentown, N. J. About this time there lived in that vicinity four persons bearing the Quaint Names, Preserve Brown, Safety Borden, Safety Magee and Hananiah Gaunt. Preserve Brown and his wife were highly esteemed and regarded as "valuable Friends." At his death he was buried in Friends' Burying Ground, located on what is now Prince Street, near Church Street, Bordentown. As a mark of special honor and respect the Friends erected to his memory a tombstone bearing the inscription:

In Memory of
Preserve Brown
who died the 26th day of
the 4 month 1744
Aged 65 years"

...This solitary tombstone, in the northwest corner of the grounds, is at the present time (1907) in good state of preservation. It is of blue marble, about two feet high, with top scrolled in the usual style of that day, and is one of the oldest tombstones to be found in any Friends' burying ground in New Jersey. Tombstones were rarely erected by Friends at so early a date.
...When John Montgomerie was appointed Governor of New Jersey, 1728, the Grand Jury addressed the King a congratulatory message of a somewhat fervid character, rejoicing in the :daily accessions to Your Glory,: promising faithful adherence, etc. Preserve Brown was one of the signers, with a number of Quakers, who added a line, saying: "We agree to the matter and Substance of this Address but make some exceptions to the Stile." From this unique paper we quote:

"We cant without a rapture of thankfulness, recount our obligation to Your Majestie,
for Your Parental care of Your People in this Distant Collonie.
"...We Shall not Trepass farther upon Your Royal Patience, but shall offer up our fervent
prayers to the King of Kings, that he will please to direct Your Majesty by his unerring
wisdom, & always encline Your heart to his Glory & Encompass Your Sacred Person with his
Favour as with a Shield, & make your Goverment an universal blessing to all Your Dominions." 
Brown, Preserve Sr. (I1316)
 
243
...Inventory of estate: 7216.6.18 In this will he is called Sergeant Joseph. He left to "Mary, my dear and beloved wife" the use of 1/3 of his lands as long as she remained his widow, except for the lands which came to him from his first wife, Hope Cook, and the use of 1/3 of all his household good, which were to go afterward to "my and her three daughters, Mary, Abigail, and Lettice."
...To his eldest son, Joseph, he left 1/9 of the land he had purchased from the Rev. Sam Whittlesey, which descended to me on the right of my first wife and a pair of sleeve buttons that was my fathers.
...He left bequests to Enos, my second son, to John my third son, to daughter Hannah, wife of Sam Beach, to a daughter Thankful, widow of Jonathan Peck, to daughter Phebe, wife of Robert Austin, to daughter Elizabeth, wife of David Merriman, to daughter Lois, wife of Enoch Calver, to Rueuben my fourth son (one half of his dwelling house), to Shadrach my sixth son, to James my youngest son (one half of dwelling house.) Mary Benham was made the guardian of the six youngest children. In Dec 1763 Benjamin Benham was made guardian for James. 
Benham, Joseph (I4428)
 
244
...Isaac Colvin, an early pioneer, established a store on the east side of Ohio St. and after operating it for many years sold it to Samuel M. Smith. (Source: Elsie Johnson Ayres, "Highland Pioneer Sketches and Family Genealogies", (Springfield, Ohio: H. K. Skinner and Son, 1971, pg. 264)
The Methodist were pathfinders in New Market as well as other small towns in the County. Rev. Robert Finley, a Presbyterian minister, settled on White Oak before 1800. He was in disfavor with his own Presbytery because of his indiscretions and his stand on Abolition. He held Methodist Class Meetings in various homes in New Market. William boatman was one of the first to open his home for meetings when Rev. Henry Smith, circuit rider, came through the area as early as 1801. He also stopped at lonely cabins in the area and preached to a few people.
...A record could not be found of a Methodist Church building before the year 1836. The first record of members owning land for church purposes was on Mar. 28, 1826.
...A log meeting house was erected on the lot and used until 1849. On March 17, 1849, members of the "Methodist Church of New Market met and resolved to build a new meeting hours." According to the record, the building was to be constructed of brick, fifty feet long, forty feet wide, sixteen feet high and was to have a "square ceiling." By June 10, 1849, the sum of $900 had been subscribed and the committee was instructed to procure a "suitable lot."
...On June 4, 1851, land for the location of the church was procured from Hazard P. Barrere and Eliza, his wife, for the sum of $50. There were a set of rules included in the agreement which stated that "A place of worship was to bne built for the members of the Methodist Church, according to the rules and discipline o the General conference and for the use of such ministers and preachers as were duly authorized by the Conference."
...A revival meeting held in the New Market community from Nov. 27 to Dec. 15, in 1847. Isaac Colvin and Lucinda Colvin became members by letter. (Source: Elsie Johnson Ayres, "Highland Pioneer Sketches and Family Genealogies", (Springfield, Ohio: H. K. Skinner and Son, 1971, pg. 270)

Mr. Isaac Colvin was in business with a Mr. Lewis McKibben and operated a store called Colvin & McKibben. 
Colvin, Isaac (I3981)
 
245
...It was Tomys Swartwout's good fortune to become acquainted with Hendrickjen, the amiable daughter of Barent Otsen, a prominent book-publisher of the city of Amsterdam. They became engaged shortly thereafter, and as required by law they subscribed their names for the publication of the banns of their intended marriage as is recorded on the tenth of May, 1631
...On June 3, 1631, Tomys Swartwout and Hendrickjen Otsen were married,
in the Nieuve-Kerk, by Domine Joannes Cornelius Silvius. 
Family F2509
 
246
...J.N. Florea (Democrat), representative from Oregon county; born in Worth county, Missouri, November 9, 1871; educated in public schools of Misosuri and Central Normal University of Iowa, and taught in the public schools of these two states for sixteen years. He married Miss Effa Strain at Grant City, Mo., on February 27, 1898, is a farmer and resides at Alton Mo.
...Elected to the House of Representatives in 1932.
(Source: Official Manual of the State of Missouri, 1933-34, p. 75, Information received from Hilda Hartling, Legislative Research Clerk, Legislative Library, Jefferson City, Mo) 
Florea, Joseph Nelson (I1904)
 
247
...Jacob was in the Civil War. He was in Company D of the 6th Regiment of the Maryland Infantry. He joined on August 20, 1862 and was mustered out on June 20, 1865. He was taken prisoner on May 6, 1864 at Wilderness, Virginia.
...The 6th Regiment was organized at Baltimore, Maryland, August 12, to September 3, 1862. It moved to join Army of the Potomac in Western Maryland September 20, 1862. It was attached to Kenley's Brigade, Defences Upper Potomac, 8th Army Corps, Middle Department, to March, 1863. 3rd Brigade, 2nd Division, 8th Army Corps, June, 1863. Elliot's Command, 8th Army Corps, to July, 1863. 2nd Brigade, 3rd Division, 3rd Army Corps, Army of the Potomac, to March, 1864. 2nd Brigrade, 3rd Division, 6th Army Corps, Army of the Potomac and Army of the Sheandoah, to June, 1865.
...His service in the Civil War was defence of Williamsport, Maryland, September 20-21, 1862. Duty between Williamsport and Hagerstown, Md., until December 11. Moved to Maryland Heights December 11-12 and duty there until March 28, 1863. Moved to Berryville March 28. Action at Kelly's Ford June 10. Berryville June 13. Opequan Creek June 13. Retreat to Winchester June 13. Battle of Winchester June 14-15. Retreat to Harper's Ferry, W. Va., June 15-16; thence to Washington, D. C, July 1-4. Join Army of the Potomac July 5. Pursuit of Lee Go Manassas Gap, Va., July 5-24, Wapping Heights, Va., July 23. Duty on line of the Rappahannock until August 15. Detached for duty in New York during draft disturbances until September 5. Bristoe Campaign October 9-22. Culpeper Court House October 11. Bristoe Station October 14. Advance to line of the Rappahannock November 7-8. Kelly's Ford November 7. Brandy Station November 8. Mine Run Campaign November 26-December 2. Payne's Farm November 27. Demonstration on the Rapidan February 6-7, 1864. Campaign from the Rapidan to the James River May 3-June 15. Battles of the Wilderness May 5.
...Lived in Monroe Township, Miami County, Ohio in 1870. He was a farmer. Lived on Water Steet in Piqua, Washington Township, Miami County, Ohio in 1880. Grandson Clarence E. West born about 1879 in Ohio was in his household. (Source: Information received from Dale Landon, CD) 
Gates, Jacob (I5239)
 
248
...James Alexander Beck, the second son of Hugh Beck of Loughbrickland and Armagh, was born at Drumnahaire in 1824. He was known as a very talented scholar who was sent to Dublin to study law, but apparently came home with degree and became apprenticed into the linen trade with Dunbar, Mc Master & County at Gilford (Read Maralin Cohen Linen, Family and Community in Tullylish County, Down 1690-1914 Dublin 1997). James became experiienced in the chemical process and became aware of the commerical enterprise in supplying chemicals to the trade. He settled in Belfast in 1854, and subsequently was founder and proprietor of Belfast Chemical Works, which later became James A. Beck & Son - chemical manufactures principally to the linen trade. In 1859 he purchased Everton House and Estate from the marquis of Donegal, and died there on March 1, 1897, being buried in Belfast City Cemetery. His will, dated November 3, 1895, was proved at Belfast Probate Registry on April 21, 1897, and included several charitable bequests.
...There was a history that his father died young, and that they were estranged. Neither facts are substantiated by the various researches, in fact his father died when he was 26, and probably still at home....Married into the Bullick family, as did his cousin Alexander. Created a bit of a stir by marrying his late wife's younger sister. Developed a passion for travel which was passed on to his family. (Source: Information received from Allan C. Beck, John W. Beck, A.M.I.E.E., "Beck of Northern Ireland", 1931)
...Bought: 1859, Everton House from Marquis of Donegal (Source: Information received from Alan C. Beck, email dated February 24, 2002) 
Beck, James Alexander (I4002)
 
249
...James Nelson Jeffryes was born July 29, 1887 in Piqua, Ohio to Alpheus & Adeska (Noland) Jeffryes. He went by his middle name and was called Nels (pronounced to rhyme with else). Nels was the youngest of three children with sisters Hazel and Mabel. The family lived in Springcreek Township in the section called Huntersville. Today it is known as Shawnee in Piqua.
...Nels married Rose Strohmeyer, the daughter of Henry & Catherine (Brinkman) Strohmeyer, in 1927 in Piqua. Nels and Rose had one child, James (Jim) N. Jeffreys on May 25, 1934 in Piqua.
...In the January 30, 1912 issue of the Xenia Daily Gazette an article title "James Jeffryes celebrates his ninety-first birthday" states that "His trade as cabinet maker, Mr. Jeffryes learned from his brother-in-law, Uriah Jeffryes, a distant relative who married his eldest sister.: In 1832 Silas brought his family to Cedarville, Greene County from Greenville County, Virginia near Jamestown. The head of the family in this country was one of the early English settlers of Virginia who married an Indian maiden.
...In May 1918 Nels was drafted into the Army and served until august 1919. Nels owned and operated Jeffryes Grocery at 445 East Ash Street in Piqua until 1937. He became a molder in the brass foundry at Hobart Manufacturer in Troy until he died March 8, 1952 in Piqua at the age of 64. (Source: Miami County Historical & Genealogical Society; typed and indexed by Lois J. Fair, "Miami County Family Histories Tired Iron book", (Ohio Genealogical Society. Miami County Historical & Genealogical Society, c2006 ), pg. 103) 
Jeffryes, James Nelson (I2153)
 
250
...John and James Colvin, Jr., brothers of Thomas, arrived in New Market in the late fall of 1805. John Colvin taught in a log cabin school until 1807. Later, he moved to a farm on the west side of the Danville-Hollowtown Pike, southwest of the site of Danville. He sold out to Joshua and Mary M. Hawk and he purchased another farm in the township. Mary Hawk passed away in March, 1893, and he survived until Dec. 11, 1903. (Source: Elsie Johnson Ayres, "Highland Pioneer Sketches and Family Genealogies", Springfield, Ohio: H. K. Skinner and Son, 1971, pg. 671).
...The three brothers John, James and Thomas all served in the War of 1812. Land distributions became part of the veteran's estate. That is how the brothers ended up in Ohio. Ohio was part of the Virginia Land Distribution to veterans of the Revolutionary War.
...Researchers Note: Highland County was formed in 1805 from Ross, Adams and Clermont counties.
 
Colvin, John (I1033)
 

      «Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 47» Next»